Latest Older
Spaghetti and SARSSpaghetti and SARS

2003-05-22 - 9:24 a.m.
Happy Thursday :)

Every day, I've kept track of the latest figures on SARS from the WHO.

Um, nooo.... The other WHO. The World Health Organization. I have an Excel spreadsheet that keeps track of new cases, deaths and trends etc.

Well the good news is, that finally it seems to be slowing:

Which means that it should hopefully burn itself out before too long. I still think we'll have around 10,000 case by the end of this month with about 1000 dead, but it could have been a lot worse. Another virological bullet dodged for the human race...

As for me, today I have a bunch of work to do. I slept eventually last night, after taking some Valerian and a bunch of pain pills. I need to go back to Benadryl. I know it gave me a hangover, a nosebleed and an enlarged prostate, but it sure as hell knocked me out for the night...

I wouldn't mind if I wasn't tired, but I am dog tired by the end of the day. Then I can't sleep.
Just hope I don't sit next to a guy selling soap on my next plane trip...

Didn't have any wine last night, but I think I will tonight. R. is going over to K's. for her training. I have some book reviews to do so I need to get creative :>

West Wing wasn't on last night - I guess the John Goodman episode was the finale. No ER tonight either, right? I couldn't help but feel a stab of guilt watching ER last week. I hope others did too. Most people have no concept that half the world lives like that, nor that our actions in the West are responsible for creating the conditions that allow these countries to fall into civil war, experience terrible famines, lose millions to AIDS and even more easily treatable diseases. Did you know, we, in North America and Europe, each consume 50 times more resources than the average chinese, 100 times the average african?

I did it again didn't I? Turned a potentially funny and uplifting entry into a friggin guilt trip. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience :> I'll try and write tonight, after I've got a bottle of Merlot in me, my head tends to get mellower :}

I cooked my famous Spaghetti Bolognese last night, but ran out of spaghetti so I had to use Fetuccine. Still good though. R. was late because she went over to her mom's to give her some more money. At least they're moved in now. They still need to do the floors, ceilings, walls etc but they have heat, light and running water, so that's good. I could fill up a ten diaries talking about R's mom and her husband, but that would just make me even more annoyed than I appear to be this morning, so I won't even go there...

Today's Websites

  • World Health Organization
  • Blackstone Wineries - Maybe if enough people go to their site, they'll send me some free wine :>

    Today's Recipe

    Catpewk's 20 Minute Spaghetti Bolognese

    Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 lbs of ground beef (96% lean or better)
  • Olive oil, Lemon Pepper, Oregano
  • Half a pack of Spaghetti (regular, not thin)

  • 1 standard jar of Ragu

  • Half an onion

    Method:

    In a large pot, place Spaghetti, Virgin Olive Oil, lemon pepper Salt. Heat on Medium-High. In large pot, cut up onion, add olive oil, oregano and ground beef. Brown beef until, well, brown. Pour in Ragu, turn heat down to warm, set timer for ten minutes, cover with lid or aluminum foil. Stir spaghetti occasionally. When timer goes off, turn off heat on all things, then drain spaghetti and add to meat and sauce. Stir in, serve. Should serve four people or one teenager.

    Answer to the puzzle!

    This is the answer I was looking for, from Steve's monologue: "

    It is the four pillars of the male heterosexual psyche. We like:

    naked women, stockings, lesbians, and Sean Connery best as James Bond."

    So no-one wins this time, I'll do another one soon :)

    By the way, I'm in a hurry so this isn't checked for spelling or grammar, sorry!

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com