Latest Older
Kids, Butterflies and DiariesKids, Butterflies and Diaries

2003-06-02 - 10:46 p.m.
Well that was fun. Got half way through today's entry and the friggin power flashed!!! Aaaaghhh! So now I'm saveing every few sentences. (save)

Sunday was a strange day (I'm getting deja vu, here (save)). Usually reliable brother-in-law L. brought his two kids over for us to look after at 7:00 am 'just for a few hours, 3-4 at most' while he went to help someone move. The youngest spent the time doing Linda Blair impressions. The older one (5 yrs) drove poor J. just about crazy and finally got the hint that if he wanted to remain friends with J., or indeed, live to see six, he should perhaps back off for a while. I set up a sprinkler in the backyard and let him get good and wet playing in it, since by this time his father was WAY overdue, it being now past 5:00pm, and us with 8 people coming over at 7:30pm, for class, and the house looking like a trainwreck.

He finally turned up (save) at 6:00pm, apologetic for not having his cellphone or pager, and offerred us $30 for looking after the kids. R. took it, at my prompting.

Class was on Healing. It seemed to go well. I'll get the notes up in a day or so and you can look at them. But while I was teaching class, my phone rang. R. went and got it - it was a text msg from tia-marie ! Now I don't usually get text messages, and although I'd explained about the others one (truthfully), I'd left out the bit about diaryland, and it was clear that this was concerning to R., although I'm not sure she would have brought it up. After a couple of beers and barbecue meatballs, I told her, gentle reader about my diary! I even sent her the URL. I did tell her however, that:

  • Some parts she may not want to read. There is some stuff about J. in here she should avoid
  • I DON'T WANT TO KNOW if she decides to read it or not. Because if I know its being read then I my creativity may be stifled, and that would never do - this is the only medium I have right now to keep in practice for whenever I get around to writing my next book. So that was Sunday.

    Monday was boring and interesting at various times. I did get to do something that I can't tell you about, but which I'm kind of pleased with. Just a piece of my job I can't mention. Nothing very cloak and dagger. Well a little, but not much. But its a good thing, as long as you're not planning to do anything nasty to the US. (save) Oops, notice how the saves are getting further apart....Guess I'd better sign off soon. Oh one last thing, for the lepidopterists amongst you. On smoke break today (in zip code 75063) I saw a Giant Black SwallowTail. Just thought you'd want to know. It was really cool looking, and so I went and looked up what it was. It is quite uncommon, although it is seen from time to time in our area apparently. (save)

    Today's Website

  • Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum

    Today's Butterfly Sighting

    Today's Trivia

    In Britain, in 1845, there was a law that said that if a person tried to commit suicide that it was a capital offense and they could be hanged as punishment.

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com