Latest Older
All the Tastelessness, half the fatAll the Tastelessness, half the fat

2003-06-16 - 8:29 p.m.
Monday, Monday...

You may have noticed the layout of the diary has changed a little. Spike gave me the kind of review I needed, and I made some changes based on the pieces of her (ahem) critique that I agree with/care about. So don't worry, Spike, I'll try and show a little more decorum round here from now on!

Or perhaps not....

For a monday, it wasn't a bad day all in all. Last night I couldn't sleep. When I went to bed at midnight, R. was still reading, and I have the hardest time sleeping with the light on. She flicked it off at 12:30 and I finally settled down. Or tried at least. Too hot. Turn the pillow. Nose stuffed up. Flashlight, nasal spray squirt, sniff, repeat. Yeck. Tossing and turning, I found that my mind was the real problem. Am I really going to join the Reserves? How will we survive financially if I get called up? Does R. really understand the potential consequences of my actions? Do I? 1:30 am. Turn down the AC a little. Take a whizz. Fresh glass of water. 99 change hands. another whizz. 2:30, then sweet oblivion.

I woke at 6:40 and actually got up and made coffee, got onto email and told my boss I would we working from home today. Which I did. I always work my ass off at home, and I am careful to produce spectatular results from it so that he knows that it really has a benefit.

Today I wrote my first serious ABAP program. Programming languages are a bit like religions. You just have to find the right way to approach the God to get what you want. So now I can program in ABAP. Really, for what I need to do, its just SQL with a COBOL/RPG cross language wrapped around it.

R. has gone to see K. (her priestess) tonight, so I'm here with J & K, both of them staring blankly into their computer screens as they socialize heavily on their respective sites of choice. Palace for K., Tibia for J.

My medical for the reserves is Friday, and I have to go see Steve Recruiter on Wednesday. I'll let you know how that goes :)

Alright that's it for now.

Today's Website

  • Spike's Review

    Today's Video

  • Lincoln Park dubbed to Reboot

    Today's Quote

  • "Opportunity...often it comes in the form of misfortune, or temporary defeat." - Napoleon Hill

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com