Latest Older
CholesterolCholesterol

2003-07-04 - 11:09 a.m.
Happy Independence Day to our American readers!

Its Friday morning, and I apologize for not writing earlier, but I thought not much had happened, but I guess several things have really, so here goes:

  • No news yet from the Naval Reserve
  • I got my new passport
  • I have now lost a total of 11 lbs in two weeks
  • Blood pressure has come down to 124/94
  • I got the results of my blood workup and urinanalysis.

    Apparently I got the high score on my cholesterol count. Although my triglycerides were well within range, my HDL was barely in range (41 - it should be closer to 60) and my LDL was waaay to high (240 - it should be under 130!). Total cholesterol count - 300. Which is too high. It should be under 200. Mind you this was taken after I'd only just started the Atkins diet, it should be down it little more by now. They gave me Zocor (Simvastatin) 20mg, so I need to ditch the grapefruit. I will also have a bowl of unrefined oatmeal in the morning. Then I go back in 6 weeks and we'll see how we're doing. As for the BP, the diastolic is probably related to the LDL count, but nevertheless he also switched me over to Lotensin, which is a diuertic with an ACE inhibitor in it. I have no intention of staying on this any longer than is necessary. I'll be going back in two weeks for that one..

    The problem is, although I like doctors, they generally have to follow the guidelines of the AMA, or as I like to call them Satan's Minions.

    It would make more sense to me to just continue with the diuertic, work the cholesterol problem and see where we end up. But I will play by the rules for now - I don't want to void the warranty on my bod, after all...

    That's it for now. We're off to the lake today, so maybe I'll take some pictures and post them at some point :>

    Today's Website

  • Learn about cholesterol

    Today's Quote

  • "Ahhh. A man with a sharp wit. Someone ought to take it away from him before he cuts himself."--

    Peter da Silva

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com