Latest Older
MarriottMarriott

2003-07-14 - 7:59 a.m. EST
Its Monday morning.

I got into Atlanta last night on AA2246 since the pilot, despite what appeared to be his best efforts, was able to get us on the ground for the most part unharmed, if a little unnerved. I got to the Thrifty car Rental and gave the girl behind the counter my reservation number. After what seemed about 3 hours meticulously typing in my information incorrectly, she finally handed back my driver's license.

"Dodge Stratus, Mr. Kitpoke"

I wasn't sure if she was telling me the car she'd chosen for me, or simply suggesting a course of action. When I arrived at the car it turned out to be the former, but after driving it for about 30 seconds I began to suspect that the latter would have been a better choice.

After 30 minutes fight with the ridiculously wide interstate I finally made it to the hotel.

"Good evening Mr. Cutpake"
"What time is it?"
"9:45, sir"
"Do you have bar?"
"Yes, but it closes in 15 minutes"
"Restaurant"
"Same deal"

"Room service?"
"Yes, but-"
"Ok I get the picture..."

I jogged to the room, found the guest services book. Couldn't find a menu, or indeed a number for room service. So I called the front desk, and they connected me. I finally got hold of a Grilled chicken sandwich and a glass of Cabernet (Merlot is out until tomorrow).

I called R., and hooked up the laptop. The place does at least have high speed internet access ($9.95 per day). After satisfying myself that I had some form of contact with the outside world, I order 'Gangs of New York' and watched that, finally turning out the lights at around 1:15 am local time, 12:15 for me. Now its Monday morning, and I'm up earlier than I needed to be, hence this opportunity to update the diary.

This is going to be a long week I think.

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com