Latest Older
I gotta go - we got Cows!I gotta go - we got Cows!

2003-07-15 - 8:32 p.m.
The London Underground is a great melting pot of humanity. Every class and race huddles together going about their business, CEOs rubbing shoulders with punks, Asians, Blacks, Whites, muslims, even the French all share this common bond in London.

Any expectations of the same from the Altanta Metropolitan Rapid Transit system (affectionatily known as 'Marta') were shattered the moment I got on board. From North Atlanta, heading south around 6:00pm in the evening every single person on it was black. Except me. Tired from working in all day in the hospitals they were heading back to their homes in the cheaper part of town. There was no A/C. The air was thick. No one looked at each other. Just another shit day in another shit life.

I rode 4 stops and got out in Midtown. I was dying for a whizz, so I found a Sushi bar, ordered some California rolls and Sapporo then went their restroom. The sushi was good, but crunchy in the middle for some reason I am not aware of. I left, wandered in and out of a couple of grocery stores in search of a street map, and found only Cows. Yes that's right, cows. Like this one:

The cow parade is in town apparently, and all over the place there were cows like the one above. I took a few pictures, but it was really too damn hot so I got back on the even hotter train and headed back north. On the way back, everyone on the train was white...

Today's websites

  • Marta
  • Cow Parade

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com