Latest Older
The group is greater than the individualThe group is greater than the individual

2003-07-19 - 7:25 p.m.
What a wonderful day!

I woke up this morning, back in my own bed, with R. lying next to me. Dressing gown, bathroom, coffee. R. got up and came and joined me in the garage, where we smoke and the cats have their litter box. We started talking, and after a while, I started putting up these big post-it things on the walls and with a magic marker, started plotting out my next book. I can tell you now it weill address things like:

  • The Fermi Paradox
  • John Nash's group Dynamics
  • The Carter Catastrophe
  • Life, The Universe and Everything (Rest in Peace, Doug)

    I'm also going to talk about the cop out that most intelligent people ultimately agree to in order to avoid going insane on an insane planet. And what to do about it.

    I love this whole abstract thought thing. It is one of my two greatest pleasures. In fact, after a while we got so excited about all this that we had to pop back into the bedroom and indulge my other greatest pleasure :>

    Yep, that's the one...

    This afternoon I prepared for the last class in the first part of the Ninth Wave, which I'm going to teach in about half an hour, so I better go do it!

    One last thing. Whenever you go to an airport, you will meet people in the bar or the smokng lounge, or at the gate. Some you will like, some you won't. You will never see them again. When that happens to you, do what I did. Write down three movies (or books) you like and have them do the same. Then swap napkins (or whatever) and when you get home, make a point of finding and watching (or reading) them. It is a way of connecting. A way of remembering that we are not all just random nameless people. We each have thoughts and dreams and things that touch us, that make us laugh and cry. Some time in the next week or two, a girl called Amy will talk to a guy or girl who's name I don't know, and they will exchange napkins. And then there will be three of us. When I do it next time, there will be four. Then eight, sixteen and so on. It is a safe way to anonymously connect with a stranger these days, and it helps us remember to care about each other. God knows, we need to remember...

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com