Latest Older
The Incredible reversed day diary entry!The Incredible reversed day diary entry!

2003-07-25 - 6:59 p.m.
It's 7:15, and R. will be landing at 9:30, so we have to irradiate the living room, field dress the cat and hide the shotguns and brown liquor before going to pick her up. I hope she's up for some nocturnal gymnastics tonight, I've been a bit anxious this week...

I went to pick up my glasses from Wally-World on the way home, since they finally called and told me they were in.

"They're the wrong prescription"
"huh, are you sure?"
"Are they supposed to give me a headache?"
"No"
"They're the wrong prescription, Tabitha"

Tabitha took the original order and failed to turn it in. Tabitha told me they'd be in Wednesday, it was now Friday. Tabitha keyed the order into the system, which I could now see, elbowing my way to her screen, showed that she had entered zero prescription for the left eye, instead of 1.25 as shown on the Optometrist's script.

"Well, um, maybe its because they're safety glass, that makes them a bit thicker."
"You don't know Rule One, do you, Tabitha?"
"What's Rule One?"
"Never Screw With A Smiling Englishman"

There was a long silence. Like the silence you get just after a minute-man missile silo has opened up. I smiled...

Free Lens cleaner with unlimited refills, 25% discount on the glasses, written guarantee that they would be free if I didn't get the RIGHT prescription by August 1st, and her firstborn to be phased in by 2008.

Apart from that, it had been a relatively uneventful day, although I did kinda sorta make peace with JW.

"It takes longer to run"
"But its the standard we use"
"Ok, I will use that standard, even though it goes against the grain, and means throwing 20 years of database administration philosophy out the window. I will use the frigging PROVIDE and GET pernr crap instead of SQL Select statements when programming HR stuff. But I don't have to like it, and just for the record, I don't HAVE to do it. I'm just being a team player."

"Ok, Catpewk"
"Have a Romi and Michelle day"

So I got more reports done for CC, using the messed up standard, but she was happy, he was happy and I just kept smiling.

Earlier I'd been to the Doctor's to check on my blood pressure. I got Sample Boy again.

"Well your Systolic is doing good at 128, but we still need to get that diastolic down. Let me go get some samples..."

So I have a whole bunch of samples of extra strength pee-pills and more itty-bitty bottles of Zocor for the cholesterol that we're stil working on, and I promised to come back in two weeks.

So that's it. Have a great weekend - I certainly intend to :>

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com