Latest Older
AphroditeAphrodite

2003-08-05 - 4:18 p.m.
Since I don't have much going on right now, I figured I would share with you an

essay I had to write for my first degree correllian, about one of my patron deities.

I chose my goddess - Aphrodite

�She may be the face I can't forget
a trace of pleasure I regret
may be my treasure or the price I have to pay�

�me, I'll take her laughter and her tears
and make them all my souvenirs
for where she goes I got to be
the meaning of my life is She.�

-- Sinatra


She is the goddess of romantic love, laughter and passion. She is the maiden aspect of the triple goddess. She is beauty and youth. She is Aphrodite.

Correspondences:

  • Pantheon: Greek
  • Preferred colors: Pink, white, red, Blue
  • Associated symbol: Seashell, heart
  • Animals associated with: Dolphin , Dove
  • Best day to work with: Friday
  • Best Moon phase: Waxing
  • Suitable offerings: Pomegranates, Limes
  • Associated Planet: Venus

    The first greek gods were the Titans. Gaea, the mother created Uranus and he became the Sky God, first ruler and husband to Gaea. Their first son was Cronus. Goaded by his mother, Cronus being jealous of Uranus� great power and wanting it for himself, castrated his father, and tossed his fathers genitals into the foam of the ocean. It was here that Aphrodite was born. Her name comes from aphros meaning "sea foam", where she was created.

    Cronus got his own come-uppance many years later when he was overthrown by his son (Zeus), and the rule of the Olympians began.

    Aphrodite was loved by many gods and mortals, including Adonis, Hephaestus, and her Trojan lover Anchises. Some of her sons are Eros, Anteros, Hymenaios and Aeneas (with her Trojan lover Anchises).

    Aphrodite gives us the word Aphrodisiac, the legendary potion that could enhance the act of love making, and which was also the name of her festival, where she would be worshipped via the act of lovemaking, her priestesses serving as the catalyst for this worship.

    Aphrodite is accompanied by the three Graces, who love charm and beauty in nature, and in life. Some times they are seen as aspects of Aphrodite, or deities in their own right. They are Aglaea (who loves Splendor), Euphrosyne (who is heartened by mirth), and Thalia, who embodies a cheery disposition.

    The Romans had a habit of stealing greek deities and filing the serial numbers off them, so in the Roman mythos, Aphrodite became Venus. Most people use these interchangeably, but I see them as subtly different aspects. Venus is more motherly in her love, Aphrodite more sensual and physical. Where Venus cradles her lover in her warm embrace, Aphrodite may trip him up in the street and be under him before he hits the ground.

    Aphrodite has been my patron goddess for about a year now, but I soon came to the realization that she had been in my life and my mind for much longer than that.

    She likes pomegranates and limes, but I have also found that a single red rose offered to her on a regular basis is well received, as is the act of unconditional pleasure. Unconditional love is easy � anyone can do it, and we all do, with our families. Unconditional pleasure is harder, since it involves focusing all your attention on the physical pleasure of your partner, with both of you fully aware that no reciprocity is expected.

    Aphrodite embodies several aspects of my life that are important. In my work, 15% of what I do is technical ability. The rest is personality and charisma. Charisma includes vitality, appearance, disposition and charm. It is these characteristics that Aphrodite brings out in me. She encourages me to sharpen my intellect, to care for my grooming, to look after my health and to stay in shape, and to always find the good in people.

    In my mind�s eye, Aphrodite is tall and slender, with long flowing hair, the color of which she changes to suit her whim. Her eyes are golden blue and she is past the first bloom of youth, but not yet weathered by time and gravity, although her eyes tell a story of vast experience and a life lived to the fullest.

    Aphrodite is my patron Goddess, and I love her.

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com