Latest Older
What's an infant to do?What's an infant to do?

2003-08-15 - 10:43 a.m.
Friday, at last!!!

Bad news is that our glorious leader is back from vacation on Monday, so I'll have to start letting him know when I'm going to telecommute, leave early, go to the doc etc. Notice how I don't need permission to drag my ass in earlier or stay late. Funny how that works. JR is a good boss, its not his fault. He's up against an old boy network which he despises, as I do.

Whatever. Went back to the Doc this morning. BP 120/78 which he was very happy about. While I waited for the blood nurse, I continued reading 'Guilty Pleasures' by Laurell K. Hamilton. Its a vampire book, but more from the human side than the vampire side. I would have to say that its set some time in the near future, after Anne Rice's books, when vampires are known by all and have their own 'districts' etc. Anyway, it reads okay so far. The rest of the books in the series suggest there will be more eroticism in them than Rice's books. Works for me. I'm in a particularly 'rotic mood of late.

God Damn Bless America!!!!!!

GRRRRRRRR... Shit!Piss! Damn! I hate this fucking cube! I hate people standing at the edge NOT knocking and just being NOSEY!!!!!

I REALLY need to talk to John on Monday about getting an office. Some of the stuff I do here is so secret that only a few people know about it. The last thing I need is for some terrorist sympathiser to figure out what I'm looking at and come back and steal it.

And I also don't like people standing over my shoulder when I'm writing my diary entry....

I burned a CD this morning of some of my favorite songs from Linkin Park, Johnny Cash (Hurt), Matchbox 20 (Push) and Johnnypop, to listen to in the car, and so I could lend R. the CD John sent me to listen to in her car.

Driving up 161, on a beautiful sunny, yet surprisingly cool morning, I had it up at full volume. I was listening to 'Down to You', and got to thinking about the lyrics: 'What are you gonna do, when it all comes down to you?'.

Well, what AM I going to do? My dad's not head of the family any more. The chain of command falls to the next level when my mom passes on, and if the heat don't get any better in England, that'll be sooner rather than later, I hate to say. How do you lead a whole family of people, half of whom are in a state of permanent warfare with the other half? How do you keep them in touch, make them remember birthdays and crap like that. I can barely remember to do it myself. Well, let's be honest. I DON'T remember to do it myself. I remember my sister's, my mum's and my dad's. Only 2 of those count any more, I guess.

The IRS is going to squeeze the last cent of manoeuvering room out of us. No more impulsive dinners, or mucky weekends for a long time. This sucks. And I wanted to buy a guitar. John has got me wanting to write lyrics and play again. Though to be honest, with everything else on my list, I don't thing that's likely anytime soon.

Here's my current hit list:

  • Interview in progress for the web site
  • Re-write Being Human, and get it republished.
  • Write the next book, and get it published.
  • Add Brahman and North American pantheon deities to the website.
  • Add the Qabbalah to the website
  • Lose another 15lbs (lost 20 so far, as of today!) at least.
  • The whole Naval reserve thing, if they ever call me back
  • Sort out finances (Join Credit union, get loans etc.)
  • Find a better job, or contract
  • Learn Java (properly this time)
  • Write a Rune lesson for witchschool.
  • Become a mentor at witchschool
  • Get 2nd degree correllian
  • Develop a tradition with R.
  • Complete ninth wave spiritualist classes (They start developing this weekend, lots of sitting in a room in the dark, 'giving off' stuff).

  • Get a cam corder and mixing software and make music videos.

  • Large quantities of dental work.

    And that's without the usually white noise of every day life. So when the hell am I going to start writing lyrics and playing guitar and keyboards???

    Well screw it - you know what, despite all the evidence to the contrary, I still have no definitive proof that we have more than one life to live, so I might as well make the most of this one, don't you think?

    I guess that's it for now...Have a great weekend if I don't write sooner. This is definitely a Merlot night...

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com