Latest Older
Saturday MorningSaturday Morning

2003-08-23 - 9:35 a.m.
Saturday morning. I slept in until 9:00 this morning! That's 9 hours sleep! That's unprecented!

J. is up, but R. is still sleeping. I placed the coffee by the side of her bed. On Thursday night, R. wanted to record some meditations from a book, but the microphone was a crappy computer one with rumble and crap all over the sound channel so I went to Radio Shack last night and bought a decent unidirectional microphone, stand and condom.

Its been so long since I'd bought a decent mic, it hadn't occurred to me it wouldn't work when I plugged it in to the computer. But of course, it didn't. It needs more amp oomph than the pc can supply.

"So we need to buy a practice amp" I explained to R.

"Cool, let's go to Frye's Electronics, I want a shuttle drive, and Big J says they have 256MB on sale for $59." I hesitated.
"Well,-"
"I want to go too " piped in J. " I want something cool!"
"Alright now hold your horses both of you, I need to work something out, give me a minute".

I went over to the computer, and did my bi-weekly bill paying thing. $3000 in. $2700 on bills. I have $250 to play after the $50 on microphone. The amp would be $50. That wasn't the problem. The problem was I wanted a guitar.

"Ok here's the thing...Um..Err..I want a guitar. That's it, right there I really want a guitar. If I write you a check for $150 from the money market, will you buy me one please? please? I don't ask for stuff often and-" she cut me off.
"It's okay I will buy you a guitar. Keep the money in the money market. How much will it be?"
"I reckon I can get a guitar for $150 and a practice amp for $50." I had no intention on spending a shitload of money on a guiatr until I was sure I was really going to get back into it.

Frye's didn't have amps or guitars, but R. did get her shuttle drive. Next stop guitar center, where the first thing I saw when I walked in the door was a half price Les Paul copy.

"That's the very fellow for me!" It even had Gibson written on it. It also had Epiphone written there, but let's not get picky. In fact I bought a box of pickies, a strap, a Marshall 10W parctice amp, two packs of .009 and .010 strings (I go through E's and B's like they're going out of fashion). $208, and R. paid for it. I was a happy camper.

Tonight we'll go out to dinner. Its our second anniversary on Monday. Today I have laundry to do, and I need to install some wave recording softare on the PC in K's room, which is doubling as the music room. And yeah! We can use R's shuttle drive to transfer between PCs. Awesome :>

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com