Latest Older
People are Strange, but I'm StrangerPeople are Strange, but I'm Stranger

2003-09-15 - 7:36 a.m.
Well it's Monday again. How'd that happen? Thanks to everyone who commented about J's little secret. We'll see what happens with R's Radio station idea in the next couple of days, and I'll post it up here :)

The Ninth Wave didn't happen this weekend. Two people were down with bubonic plague (or something) and one had to do inventory, so we ended up not doing it. R. was bummed, and I was too, especially since I'd spent all day cleaning the friggin' house up in preparation. Oh and I have a new task now that's been added to my revolving task list - reseating the slip covers.

When we moved in R. bought a new Sofa and Love Seat in bright red, and it looks pretty cool. But it gets messed up real easy, so last weekend she bought slip covers for it. We spent about 30 minutes fitting them and straightening them about.

But five minutes later, they looked like someone had skinned a Sharpei. And they've stayed that way ever snce, resisting all attempts to straighten them.

Yesterday, we went to the Kimball Art Museum in Ft. Worth for the last day of the Egyptian exhibition. It was pretty good, and very enjoyable, although (and I wouldn't say this to R.) it really didn't hold a candle to the British Museum's Egyptian section. Next time we go to London, I'll take R. to see it. I think she'll enjoy it. She's studying with the Isian tradition, so naturally anything Eqyptian is relevant and interesting to her. I enjoy it too, but for different reasons, I think. The Egyptians had a very strongly established civilizations thousands of years ago, and its fascinating to see how their religion influenced the whole Judao-Christian mythos, not to mention the Greeks and the Romans. Pythagoras was certainly heavily influenced by then, if not directly them via his teachers. Anyway, I digress...

This morning, I have to get ready to teach that SAP HR class. Last month I had three students, this time I think I've got twice that many. And we've made some changes to the system. On Friday, everyone was panicking because a piece of the config hadn't been done and no-one knew how to fix it, and they're all pointing figures at one another, and the shit's getting deeper and deeper as the clock ticks away to the deadline. So of course yours truly has to step in, pour the pee out of the shoes, and figure out the solution, which took all of twenty minutes I might add. Yeesh. People worry me sometimes. They get all bent out of shape like the end of the world is coming (which it probably is, but not for the reasons they think), and can no longer function. Just work the problem, guys. Take a deep breath, get some oxygen into the brain, then figure it out.

Ho hum. Alright, I better go do something productive. I'll natter with you later, thanks again for your comments about J., and I promise I'll keep you updated on that!

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com