Latest Older
Fangs for the memories, AnitaFangs for the memories, Anita

2003-09-24 - 8:33 a.m.
Wednesday. Hmmm. That's wierd. You ever get that problem? I wrote Wednesday, and it didn't look right. I tried Wedenesday, Wedensday and then Wednesday again, and it still didn't look right. Why does your brain do that? Or why does my brain do that - yours may not. I've been writing Wednesday for years, so why now all of a sudden do I have a problem with how its written? The brain is a strange organ.

Last night I plowed through Narcissus in Chains. I'm almost finished, but I wanted to save a bit for lunchtime today. It is the last paperback in the Anita Black - Vampire Hunter series.

There is a hardback out there, but I don't think I'll be getting it. This is the 11th book I will have read about Anita in the space of just over a month. I need a break. And to be honest, Anita is starting to wear me down. Every time you think there's a line she won't cross, she damn well crosses it anyway. That's okay up to a point, but the stories are getting to formulaic, and the main characters seem to spend an inordinate amount of time in the later books analysing the crap out of each other. So although I've enjoyed spending time in Anita's world (about four years of book time, 5 weeks of my time), it's time to take leave of her for a while, methinks.

This evening is TV night, now that the new season is here. Start Trek Enterprise, followed by West Wing. This is the season premiere for West Wing, and we still have Rosanne's husband as president. I'm hoping its just for the one episode...

But I have 6 hours of this rathole first, so I better get some work done. That, at least, makes the day go faster...Damn, I hate wishing my life away! Why can't I enjoy every minute of it, or be challenged by some of it and enjoy some of it? Why do I spend at least 3 or 4 hours each day wishing I was doing something else? Its all about the money isn't it? I could have a lot more fun and challenge somewhere else, but the worthwhile jobs don't pay worth a shit....I need to simplify my life as quickly as possible, so I can afford a cut in pay, I think.

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com