Latest Older
Earth to Bush, come in please!Earth to Bush, come in please!

2003-10-17 - 7:48 a.m.
Good Morning :)

Thanks for the kind comments about the new layout. I just thought it was time for something a bit different. Its not exactly how I want it yet, and javascript keeps popping an error in a location that doesn't exist, but I'll figure it out at some point.

Yesterday was blaaah. I worked from home, but had a hard time really getting into it, I don't know why. That worries me a little. Maybe it was the wine the night before. When you don't drink regularly, you notice the effects more. I've also found that since I've not been eating junk food regularly, when I do, I get waves of nausea, as if its full of toxins, trace elements, and heavy metals. Its scary when I think of how much of that crap I've consumed over the years.

We are a society that elevates the half-assed to greatness, the mediocre to magnificence. And each generation gets dumber than the one before it. Genetically, through DNA damage caused by our environment as well as intellectually, due to the dumbing down of America's classrooms.

How much longer can we reasonably expect to go on like this? I mean Jesus H. Christ, China has just launched a man into space. They have every intention of going to the moon AND STAYING THERE. Does no-one in this friggin country understand the implications of that? I have some reading material for you:

  • The Moon is a Harsh Mistress (Heinlien)
  • Understanding Gravity (Tiner)

    The latter is a 7th grade reader, so although I know you guys will understand it, you might need to get some better charts & pictures to send with the information you use to lobby your senator.

    Let me put this as plainly as possible.It is easier and cheaper to fire something from the moon to the earth than it is from the earth to the moon.

    The chinese intend to build a moon base, mine the moon and produce raw materials to expand it, and send resources back to earth. They are, in effect, going to bootstrap their moon program. They will not need resources from the US. They will not NEED the US, and will be in a very good position to fuck with us if they choose to do so.

    Now personally, I could give a rat's ass who goes into space as long as someone does. We don't need to keep all our eggs in one basket. But it just concerns me that America has become so wrapped up in itself that it is not paying attention to the world around it. It is not looking at the future. It is barely looking at the present, other than thinking up news ways to fuck with its citizens and anyone else it doesn't like.

    A good government looks at its nation and says 'This is the way people are. Now how do we deal with that?'. Too often today governments say 'This is how people ought to be, how do we change them?'.

    Wow, that was an unexpected rant for a Friday morning. Maybe its the new font :>

    Alright, have a good Friday, I'll natter with you later!

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com