Latest Older
This Steak is Rubbery!This Steak is Rubbery!

2003-10-18 - 10:16 a.m.
"Hi, I'm afraid Jack's is closed today, but we will re-open on the 22nd after we've finished our remodelling"
"Oh, closed? Really?"
"Here's a coupon for $7 off your next meal."

"'course, its Friday. I always have the Thai Chicken Curry on Friday, yeah. I'm a really good driver."

Ok I didn't really say that last bit, but I often wonder if I'm partially autistic. I am a creature of habit to a large degree, and get unnevered if my schedule gets disrupted. I do NOT like suprises. Except surprise parties. Or surprise blowjobs. Them's okay, but I do NOT like changing my plans at the last minute. I think what I really hate is lack of planning, and that has translated itself into a certain disgruntled-ness when MY plans get changed by someone else who hasn't consulted me ahead of time.

I know, scary, isn't it ....

I went to IHOP instead, and froze in their smoking section whilst trying to decide whether or not to eat the T-bone steak they served me, or send it off to a lab for analysis. IHOP, whilst good at pancakes, seems to have an attitude that using and preparing quality cuts of beef is something that happens to other people. I'd love to get a hold of their three ring binder on meat preparation. Probably says something like:

  • Find the choicest cuts of meat, and discard
  • Ensure the meat is grey, heavily marbled, and wherever possible displaying 2nd degree burns from the cattle-prod.
  • Check customer's cooking preference (e.g. rare, medium, well-done etc). If it is not noted, instruct the waiter to go get it again.
  • Place in the microwave and cook for exactly 27 minutes.
  • Place in a large pan of 3 week old grease, and turn repeatedly.
  • Add a sprig of green stuff to the plate for aesthetic purposes.
  • Alternatively, if no sprig can be found, use a plate that still has a piece of cabbage stuck on it from someone else's meal.

    Okay I may be exaggerating a bit, but that is certainly how it always seems to come out.

    Next week then, I will need to find somewhere else to eat for the first couple of days. Maybe I'll eat in the canteen downstairs. I could use a little excitement in my life.

    I have a bunch of book reviews to do, including a new one from Llewellyn, and I need to do that one thoroughly so they keep sending me books. And I need an interview with the author set up.

    I did the bills this morning, and I'm left with the princely sum of $300 for 2 weeks. This sucks in large quantities.

    We did go out to dinner last night, to the new Italian place by us: Johnny Carinos. It was actually pretty good, although the waitress let my chicken fettucini get cold before bringing it out. I made her bring me a hot one, and the manager gave it to me for free, which was nice. I like new restaurants. They try and keep your business. Smart behavior, IMHO.

    Not sure what Saturday is going to have in store for us. Its a bit chilly out there, right now, and I think R. want's to go shopping or some such. We'll see.

    By the way, note I've added a few things to this format: You've got weather, your horoscopes and actually real news too. Let me know if there is anything else you want on here and I'll see what I can do :)

    Alright that's my lot for now, have a great weekend!

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com