Latest Older
Mellow MondayMellow Monday

2003-11-03 - 8:54 a.m.
It's Monday morning. The house is vewwwy qwuiet.. I like a quiet house. Allows me to think, and to general do what needs to be done without distraction...

I've been up, on and off, since 6:00 am, working from home. R. had me call in sick for her - she is still sleeping.

I didn't sleep good last night either. Too many carbs this weekend. When R's family came over on Sunday, I made her brother take home this monster cheesecake/torte/mousse/death-by-chocolate thing. It was just too much of a temptation.

Yesterday we ordered an entertainment center, which should be delivered some time today. That's why I'm working from home. At some point this afternoon, I'll probably be bitching and moaning about the damned instructions not being printed in english, whilst nailing my thumb to my other thumb...

I also put in a light kit in the ceiling fan. I was pretty impressed with that. The prospect always struck me as something daunting, but once I did it, I thought "Oh, that was easy".

I learn by doing, best of all.

I was thinking again about what R. had said to me the other night what bits of me she liked. She even talked about how my elbows change when I get slimmer. More pointy apparently. But what struck me is that she actually pays attention to this stuff!. I mean as guys we just assume we look 'okay' otherwise you wouldn't be with us, right? But generally speaking, we don't expect you to really care what we look like. But R does. And I stand up to her close scrutiny. It means I'm not just a generic 'guy' in her eyes. I am her guy, and she likes that.

That's really cool, at least for me anyway :)

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com