Latest Older
Gaf Throgs!Gaf Throgs!

2003-11-28 - 10:57 p.m.
Another Thanksgiving (Throgs-gafen, in Old Low Norse) over, another 100 million turkeys slaughtered, stuffed and eaten. Oh, the Humanity! (Burp)

R. bought a 22lb bird. I mean this thing was huge. It had more meat on the wings than the average chicken has in toto!

We ate and ate, but still have enough left over to feed a medium sized african country. So I guess for the next few days its going to be turkey sandwiches, turkey bolognese, turkey rissotto and turkey shakes.

We played poker. I lost all my spare change to J. on a busted flush. I'm useless at bluffing.

We watched a few movies. Strangely, I can't remember what they were now.

Today we joined in that other great American tradition, quadrupling the electricity bill.

I spent most of the afternoon putting up 150 feet of red and green christmas light rope, 200 square feet of green hedge lights, an inflatable 6' reindeer, tree wrapping and various window ornaments. Okay, so there's brown outs occurring in fort worth as a consequence, but what the hell, its christmas!

Sheesh. That it should come to this. I haven't even got my citizenship yet and already I'm trying to out do the Griswolds.

The average american consumes more resources than 50 chinese. At christmas time, that doubles. So I am taking away resources from 100 chinese (even though I'm not american, I live here and I'm behaving like one). How does that make me feel? Guilty? Repentant? Nope. Pretty relaxed actually. They live too far away for me to worry about. There's only one person I care about over in South East Asia, and I don't even know who they are. I just know they're from Singapore and they read my diary regularly. Or so sitemeter tells me. So hi, my Singaporean friend. I am heartily sorry for eating up all these resources that could I'm sure be better used elsewhere, but I think we have to consider the possibility that I may have in my head the solution to all the planet's woes, and unless I live in relative comfort and with a reasonably stress-free life, I cannot ponder this solution and find a way to apply it, and we'd all suffer as a result. And you wouldn't want that, would you!

Of course, as I've mentioned before, around 10-20% of what I say is bullshit - spend your coupons where you want. So I may be full of crap right now. I know I'm reasonably full of Heineken. And since my glass appears to have just miraculously emptied, I think I had better stop writing now, and go ponder the mysteries of the diminishing six pack...

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com