Latest Older
The third autistic chickenThe third autistic chicken

2003-12-10 - 8:01 a.m.
I don't often post lyrics, but I felt like it today, and its my diary, so deal with it :> If you don't want to read them, just scroll down to the rest of the entry...


Down in The Tube Station at Midnight - The Jam

The distant echo -

of faraway voices boarding faraway trains

To take them home to

the ones that they love and who love them forever

The glazed, dirty steps - repeat my own and reflect my thoughts

Cold and uninviting, partially naked

Except for toffee wrapers and this morning's paper

Mr. Jones got run down

Headlines of death and sorrow - they tell of tomorrow

Madmen on the rampage

And I'm down in the tube station at midnight

I fumble for change - and pull out the Queen

Smiling, beguiling

I put in the money and pull out a plum

Behind me

Whispers in the shadows - gruff blazing voices

Hating, waiting

";Hey boy"; they shout - ";have you got any money?";

And I said - ";I've a little money and a take away curry,

I'm on my way home to my wife.

She'll be lining up the cutlery,

You know she's expecting me

Polishing the glasses and pulling out the cork";

And I'm down in the tube station at midnight


I first felt a fist, and then a kick

I could now smell their breath

They smelt of pubs and Wormwood Scrubs

And too many right wing meetings

My life swam around me

It took a look and drowned me in its own existence

The smell of brown leather

It blended in with the weather

It filled my eyes, ears, nose and mouth

It blocked all my senses

Couldn't see, hear, speak any longer

And I'm down in the tube station at midnight

I said I was down in the tube station at midnight


The last thing that I saw

As I lay there on the floor

Was ";Jesus Saves"; painted by an atheist nutter

And a British Rail poster read ";Have an Awayday - a cheap holiday -

Do it today!";

I glanced back on my life

And thought about my wife

'Cause they took the keys - and she'll think it's me

And I'm down in the tube station at midnight

The wine will be flat and the curry's gone cold

I'm down in the tube station at midnight

Don't want to go down in a tube station at midnight



So not much happening so far this morning. It was extremely windy last night. English kind of windy, which is unusual in Texas. I prepared tonights ritual meditation, which I will do after Star Trek and West Wing. Last night I watched the second part of BattleStar Galactica on the Sci-Fi Channel, which I really enjoyed. I know the die hard fans of the original series won't like it, and I sympathize, I really do. But I liked it anyway. Then I thought about whether they'd do a TV series off of this. The answer is probably yes. But then I realized that it would suck. It would just end up being some kind of Peyton Place in Space. I think. There are some good shows on TV right now. ER, Scrubs, West Wing, and of course Star Trek: Enterprise (but the last is just because I'm a die hard trekky). And I'm sure Third Watch, Nip Tuck and Carnivale are probably good even though I don't watch them. I don't need or want huge doses of TV each week. An hour or two every other night will do me. I've got too much other crap I'm trying to do. Even the computer gets less attention, as I read, read, read, study, write, draw diagrams, discuss stuff with R. and think, think, think. I wonder if my brain will pop. Can you die from Brain-pop? I'm not sure if my medical plan covers that...

Alright I think I've waffled on enough for one morning. Enjoy your hump day :)

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com