Latest Older
The Day of the MartianThe Day of the Martian

2003-12-30 - 8:39 a.m.
...aka Tuesday. Tuesday morning, in fact.

What a fun store that is! We don't go there very often, since we're usually broker than Brokey McBroke the brokest man is Broketon. We haven't been there for a while, and I don't know when we'll be going next.

HELP! SAVE ME TANGENITAL MAN!

I guess I'm in a wierd mood this morning, huh? I got my car back last night, wahay! She looks awesome. They even gave her a wash. I could not believe that little ding cost over $4K to repair! Still, it only cost me $200 for the deductible and $100 for the car hire. But I could have done without it...

Last night I worked on making the wands. I'd bought some little wooden wheels to make the golden rings that go around the dowel, but I didn't have a 5/8 " drill bit, so I went to Home Depot to get one. Well, I found one for about $3, but the shape is such that I need about half an inch behind what I'm drilling to actually drill the hole. I'd been planning to just do it on the floor of the garage - Bob Villas I ain't (or Handy Andy if you live in the UK or get BBC America). But now I figured out I need a vice of some kind (in fact I already have several, but most involve smoking, drinking and sex, and hardly any involve drilling into things with a 5/8" bit.). I find a cute one for $15. Then I remember that the drill takes 2 of those poxy black & decker batteries, and one of them is not only dead but not recharging, so I figure that while I'm there I'd better get the battery too. Well this bitch is like $17! For a battery! Sod that for a game of soldiers. I spend $3 more and buy an electric drill. A couple more little bits and pieces and my $3 shopping expedition has turned into $55 that I don't have, but spend anyway.

Oh well. I did get the holes drilled and the dowels and wheels sprayed. I'll respray them tonight then start the process of putting it all together. Again, I'll post pictures when they're done...

I was going to work from home today, but then I realized that some of the files I need I can only get to from here (the office), so I wandered in about 7:30. I couldn't sleep last night for some reason. I think one reason was that someone thought it would be funny to let off a bunch of fireworks across the street at 12:30 at night. Not sure who's bright idea that was, but if I'd have put any of my neighbours on my christmas list in the first place, they'd sure as shit be off it now!

Alright, I guess I'd better act like I'm interested. Such exciting things to do in this office. Yawn...

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com