Latest Older
Beset on all sides by the wretched of the earth.Beset on all sides by the wretched of the earth.

2004-01-11 - 10:37 a.m.
2004 is shaping up to be a real doozy...

Ok, problem number 1. R. got a letter in the mail from Arlington Police Department, advising her that their was a warrant out for her arrest, under her old married surname and a firstname that she doesn't use (she goes by her middle name). We called, but of course there was no-one there, it being the weekend and all. So after doing a little checking I suspect the mostly likely thing is identity theft. It happened to me before, and its a bitch to clean up. I guess we'll know for certain on Monday. I know at least one of my gentle readers is a lawyer, so any advice you have would be gratefully appreciated. Or if any of you have experienced this, please let me know. We're both really worried about this.

Problem number 2: I figured out today, after analyzing the traffic patterns for the website, that TrafficSales.com (based in Israel) has been exploiting a hole in the bulletin board software we were using to send out their crappy junk mail. I have plugged the hole (basically by pulling down the bb altogether), denied the ip address and sent them a C&D, but whether any of that does any good, I don't know. I guess the moral of this story is that I should always do my own programming, since when you use something off the shelf, its been in the public domain long enough for people to figure out ways to exploit holes in it.

Oh well. Anyway, if trafficsales.com website were to take a dive, I don't think I'd be upset about it one little bit. Not that I'm condoning that type of activity. Nope, not me. I am against it in a very real, and legally binding sense... I noticed they also have a phone and fax number showing on their website.

Have a good and productive Sunday...

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com