Latest Older
This is Progress?This is Progress?

2004-02-06 - 8:02 a.m.
First I want to say 'hi' to my Dad, where ever he is now. Its been one year today. I miss you dad. I miss things I didn't think I'd miss. Most of all I miss your voice, and the way you used to say my name. I will never forget I am your son.


Last night, something happened that I wasn't expecting. I fell below the competency level for watching television.

It used to be that I could say 'Right, Wednesday day, its seven O'clock, time for Star Trek'. Or Thursday night, 8:00 , time for Scrubs.

Scrubs has moved to Tuesdays. The apprenctice is now on Thursdays and runs from 7:42pm to 8:59pm. You've gotta be shitting me. Who comes up with this stuff? 7:42?

Ok, well recently J. showed me how to set a reminder on the TV Guide, which I hardly ever use. There are three ways to find channels on our cable system, and I usually use the one that lets me stay on one channel whilst scrolling through the others a channel at a time. But on the TV guide you can set reminders for shows days ahead.

So cool, thinks I. I want to watch scrubs next week, and I know its on at 7:30, so all I gots to do is set a reminder!

Well, its not that simple. The times on the TV Guide are different to the times advertised by NBC, so I had to set three reminders, covering a 2 hour time block, and reminding me of other shows that were originally scheduled to be on, but that I don't want to watch. So by the time Tuesday comes around, I will have no clue why I set reminders, and will end up missing Scrubs entirely, I have no doubt.

I have now become too stupid to watch television.

Why does our society get so complicated that it leaves so many people behind?

I filed my own green card application, but I know plenty of people that paid money (and lots of it) to lawyers to do it for them, because the process was simply too complex.

I filed and acted in my own divorce in my second marriage, then watched people who had paid lawyers so they just had to stand up there and say 'yes','no','I didn't think she'd find out', etc.

I used to be a great world traveller. I knew all the tricks about what to put in carry on luggage, the best times to fly, when to apply the moisturizer, how to get a decent meal, how to get an upgrade, when to ask for a change in seat assignment. All that stuff. Not any more. Now I can't even sit next to my wife on the plane. The last few times I've travelled to England with R., it has been impossible for us to sit together, even though we had adjoining seat numbers. It didn't matter whether we booked a week in advance, a month or a day, or that we had a direct flight. Even the flight attendants and gate agents don't know how to get around this problem. I've asked and they are clueless.

Yes, the clock flashes on my VCR. I have set it in the past, and know how to do it, theoretically, but the VCR has to know about the cable box, and we have long since lost the instruction manual that has the list of code numbers that correspond to the type of cable box we have so that the VCR can send an infrared signal to it and get the time automatically off of PBS.

I could set it manually, but what do I set it against? There are probably a dozen different time keeping devices in our house, and no two of them are within 5 minutes of each other. Why is that? I don't know!

It appears I have also become too stupid to tell time...

So be it. I guess I need to go do something productive while I still remember how to sit at my desk and look busy...

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com