Latest Older
Catharcism (Rant)Catharcism (Rant)

2004-04-16 - 9:46 a.m.
"When are you going to get that wisdom tooth taken care of?"
"To be honest, I'm afraid of the General."
"Why?"
"Because every night as I'm falling asleep I stop breathing. Its almost like I die. I suddenly go all still and then snap back and feel this terror thing. I think it may be sleep apnea."
"So go see a doctor."

This was last night. I called JR right then and told him I'd be late in the morning.

We had a lay in because R. is taking J. to another doctor today, to get his ears checked and to test for ADD/ADHD. Again.

Then when I got up this morning, off I trot to the doctor's office. I always go to the same Doc-in-a-box, because he gives samples of the drugs he prescribe a lot of times, which cuts down on the cost.

"This isn't covered by your health plan. Its going to cost $150"
"$150??"
"Yes I'm afraid so."
"Just to ask Sample Boy a $%^*!ing question?!?!?!?"

I left. I didn't do it. Then I went and bitched at JR.

"I cannot get treatment for my PLEVA without dropping $150 a week because it isn't covered anymore." I showed him my spotty arms. "The dental will cover the extraction of a wisdom tooth, but not the Anaesthetic. Now I can't find out whether or not I have a serious medical condition without dropping $150 because Talking to a doctor isn't covered either???. And let's not forget, its not the Insurance company that's doing this. Its our company. They're self insured. The insurance company just runs the plan the way they're told to. I had to liquidate some of my savings last period just to get through. This is bullshit. I want a raise."
"There are no -"
"Don't say it. It isn't true. I checked. Whatever you're being told is not true. There have been a lot of raises. And we don't need to have this conversation."
"You're probably right."
I didn't mention that the top HR guy, the one who set up the medical plan, but uses one from his old company, the one who put the freeze in place on pay raises, got a 47% increase. After the pay freeze.

JR came up with a solution. I can go get my annual check up, which they do cover, and ask the doc about the Sleep Apnea then. So that's what I'm going to do.

I don't know what's going to happen about raises though. Right now I don't care. I hate this fucking planet. It was alright once, before humans started dicking with it. Now its just a constant barrage of nitpicking assholes whose sole purpose in life seems to be to find more ways to make existence intolerable.

Screw this. I intend to live to a reasonably ripe old age. Maybe another 50-60 years. That should be enough time to see humanity screw itself beyond redemption, use up all our natural resources, kill all the fish, burn down all the forests, destroy the ozone layer and make the major population centers glow in the dark.

Then one of the last people left alive, starving and dying will say "You know, maybe we took a wrong turn somewhere.. Maybe we should have cared more. Maybe we should have got involved in the world around us. Maybe we shouldn't have been such assholes to each other."

And I will just laugh my toothless, wrinkled, spotty ass off.

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com