Latest Older
Back in the BarrelBack in the Barrel

2004-04-23 - 8:35 a.m.
"How are you doing this morning, sweeties?"
"Little tired. Someone kept me up last night.."
R. gave me a grin.
"It's good for you"

This is true. A little horizontal R&R can certainly change your outlook.

J. was bored last night so I wrote him a list of 20 things he could do, including:

  • Meditate
  • Read a book
  • Go for a walk
  • Bike over to the strip mall and get some job applications
  • Bike over to a friend's house
  • Write
  • Draw
  • study for school
  • Study something new
  • Call a friend
  • Write an essay on why your life sucks and how you can make it better.
  • Write out a list of household chores you can do and negotiate a price for doing each one.

    I can't remember the rest, and I don't have the list. He tore it up.

    I didn't pummel him into the ground. I did go for a walk, which is a concept he can't get his head round either. Why walk for the sake of walking?

    I used to walk miles when I was his age Just to see what was out there, what people were doing, maybe stop and talk to some friends/acquaintances.

    But then I didn't have a computer. And I wasn't grounded from it. In fact I don't think I ever got grounded in my entire adolescent life.

    The dishwasher is being fixed on Saturday, or so they claim.

    I still need new tires.

    Now I have to go do some work...

    Enjoy your Friday!

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com