Latest Older
How do you know he's a King? *How do you know he's a King? *

2004-07-12 - 7:53 a.m.
Inside my head, I'm behaving like a two-year-old.

"Catpewk-"
"No!"
"You need to.."
"No!"
"Please, you promised, just-"
"No! No! No! Nonononononono!"

The little devil and angel on my shoulders are in a knock-down-drag-out over what I should be doing this morning, what I should have been doing this weekend, and what I will be doing for the rest of the day.

I have not been doing a lot of stuff that I should have been doing. Instead I have been doing stuff I want to do, like painting the Tree of Life on a wood pedestal so I can mount it. Hanging out in bed; sleeping much longer than normal. Watching movies.

We went to see King Arthur yesterday. I fact J. insisted on going to see Anchorman (which he said was funny), while R, K and I watched King Arthur.

They both enjoyed it. I did kinda. I liked that they used the Arthur of the Battle of Baden Hill. It is not an amazingly well known version but it is a pretty good match historically.

I didn't like that the movie had apparently been hacked apart with a meat cleaver - probably to 'run within the time allowed'. Hopefully there will be a Director's cut in the future, because it seemed like there was more hacking and slashing in the editing room than on the screen. Consequently, a lot of the reasons why things were happening is lost to those who have not studied the history of Great Britain and the Roman Empire. The characters are not built up, again as a result, no doubt, of the deleted scenes. But, I did like the film, generally speaking. It worked hard to be historically accurate, including the clothes and weapons of the Saxons, Romans and Woads.

I liked the concept of Merlin and Guinevere (Keira Knightley) being Woads. I suspect that she was in fact Merlin's daughter in the movie, although again it is not clear who the hell is related to anyone due to the work of Choppy McChop the Editor's mate.

Keira Knightley (Pirates of the Carribean) was the only 'name' likely to have been heard outside of the U.K.

The brooding Saxon Chieftain was barely intelligible at times. And he seemed to have got his german accent from the lower east side...However, he made a pretty good stab at being Arthur's nemesis. Most likely, as with the rest of the characters in this film, much of their depth and personality was left on the cutting room floor.

All in all, I'd say this movie was 6 out of 10. But I think the Director's Cut (or Director's Uncut, I suppose) would take it to a solid 8.

Guess we'll have to wait and see...

By the way, for all you Brits reading this, there is a Magic Roundabout movie coming out in 2005!

Now I must away, so have a funfilled, action packed, uncut Monday, lads and lasses...

*

  • 'cos he's not all covered in shit...

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com