Latest Older
Fever first, then Death...Fever first, then Death...

2004-08-31 - 10:38 a.m.
J's temperature was up to 103.3 last night, so R. is taking him to the doctor's this morning.

I'm working from home again today, ostensibly to look after J., but also to save money. Of course, since we have a co-pay for J., that becomes a wash.

Money is tight.

It will be tight for the next three days.

Then it will be less tight.

I'm still trying to get my final project approved to complete my second degree. There seems to be some confusion over it on the part of my mentor. Or perhaps on my part.

We'll see.

I said I would post some of my essays so you can read them. So here is one of Death. I've already talked about some of this before on here. The essay is kind of a summary of that stuff:

  • What happens when you Die

    What follows is my belief about what lies beyond. It is not fuzzy bunny, and may seem a little irreverent at times. This is just my way of dealing with this subject. I do take it very seriously�

    That said, let me try and explain my beliefs.

    The dying brain, so used to the material world, constructs images and concepts to explain what is happening that are brought back by people who have Near Death Experiences. Over the centuries we have ended up with a complex mythology associated with death. Our names being in the Book of Life. Ma'at weighing our hearts against a feather.

    I now believe that events in this plane or at least the way we behave here, can effect what happens to us after we die. But I suspect the process is automatic, and if we could identify the inner workings of this process, we would act differently on this plane to ensure a better outcome when we pop our clogs.

    If you knew, truly knew, that the relentless pursuit of wealth, or the continual habit of screwing people over was going to result in most of your essence being negated and returned to the earth plane, would you continue to do it? If you knew that behaviors such as rising above the slings and arrows, forgiving people their trespasses, being selfless instead of selfish and being loving instead of bitter were going to result in more of your identity being preserved after death, would you change your ways? The above examples may or may not be the right way to go. I don't know. I can only hypothesize based on my own personal morality, thought processes, and experiences.

    I believe Death is an automatic process. By that I mean that I do not believe that my Great Aunt Sadie is hanging around on her cloud, drinking a cup of tea and waiting for me to ride the big escalator, so she can meet me and walk me into eternal happiness.

    Although there are some things you cannot take with you when you die (such as money, position, your collection of navel lint etc), there are 'qualities' that a person has that help define who they are, and it is those qualities that can remain after we pop off. The more of the qualities you have perfected, the more of 'you' will survive intact in some form that you can attach your identity to.

    The process can be automatic, and still involve an ultimate Supreme Being. In fact wouldn't it make sense that whoever designed the Universe would also have designed a standard process for dealing with crossing over? Would they even be capable of handling so many deaths any other way? Well, maybe they would but it seems much more efficient to automate the whole thing. Death is a very personal experience, and what you see may be purely subjective. One persons Ma'at is another persons St. Peter. After living so long in a body, we see what we expect to see, at least initially.

    At some point, that of you which remains �intact� as it were will wish to rejoin with the divine. Imagine this process as a key fitting in a lock. If the key is a good fit, the lock turns, the door opens. But if the key is not yet finished, if it still needs some of the rough edges shaved off, then it must be worked on some more.

    If our spiritual key does not fit, we return to the material plane, where the process of refining continues�

  • Anyway, that's enough for now. Enjoy your Tuesday...

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com