Latest Older
Pay no attention to the Man behind the curtainPay no attention to the Man behind the curtain

2004-10-01 - 9:37 p.m.
A list I'm on generated this email:
>At the debates last night Kerry said he would add two more divisions to the military and get more special forces. So last night he wanted to increase the military. In the past he has been against military spending as you pointed out. Can you say FLIP-FLOP?

So I decided to reply:
If I was a Senator, and our country had been attacked, I would not want to tie our presidents hands (regardless of my political affiliation) and prevent him from responding. So I'd sign the bill allowing Bush to go to war, well aware, that if he started screwing up, we still had budgetary constraints that could be applied to reign him back in.
That's not a flip-flop. That's a logical choice.

There were no weapons of mass destruction in Iraq.
There was no connection between Al-Qaeda and Iraq.
There was no Clear and Present Danger to the United States from Iraq.
There were (and are) other countries with populations suffering more greatly than Iraqis.
There were (and are) other countries that pose a greater threat to the safety of the world.

So I ask you, Why did we go into Iraq? Please answer me that question, because I'd like to think it was for some purpose higher than

a) Oil or
b) going after 'the guy who tried to shoot ma pa'.

I do not believe Iraq will be another Vietnam. I do believe we are turning it into another Lebanon. Another breeding ground for terrorists.

Iraq was no threat to the United States before we attacked. Now it is. War on Terror my ass. Can you say FLIM-FLAM?

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com