Latest Older
Modern ManModern Man

2004-11-10 - 11:59 a.m.
boxx9000 made this comment in her entry today:

"(There must be some man) SOME where that actually puts down a toilet seat, replaces an empty roll of TP, takes out the trash, washes a dish, cleans up their own shaving hair from the sink, picks up their own dirty socks from the floor, washes a dish, makes the bed, vacuums (gasp) does some sort of yard work (bigger gasp), repairs the car, mops a floor, cleans the tub or the toilet etc. I've never met one tho."

Is it really that unusual? Hmmm. Here's what I do:

  • Put down a toilet seat - Sometimes. You know what, its a communal toilet. We figured out how to lift the seat up, I'm sure you ladies can figure out how to put it down.
  • Replaces an empty roll of TP - Yes. And I make sure the hanging sheet is on the outside of the roll :>
  • Takes out the trash - Yes. Always.
  • Washes a dish - I would say I am somewhere up around 75% in terms of dishwashing workload.
  • Cleans up their own shaving hair from the sink - Well...yeah..but how hairy do you have to be for that to be an issue?
  • Picks up their own dirty socks from the floor - I will pick them up tomorrow when I do the laundry.
  • Makes the bed - maybe about 20% of the time. I'm not a big bed maker.
  • Vacuums (gasp). Yes. But we have a cleaner who comes in now and does for us so there's not a lot of call for that. But when it needs doing, I am the one what does it.
  • Does some sort of yard work - I pay for the lawn guys to come out. Does that count?
  • Repairs the car - No. In fact, I should not be allowed to open the hood of any vehicle that contains an internal combustion engine. But the cars are under warranty anyway, so the dealership does them.
  • Mops a floor - Rarely. I can do it when roused, but that's more of R's forte. I stick with the vacuuming.
  • Cleans the tub - well, I'll sloosh it round so it doesn't leave a ring. But I don't think I have actually cleaned a tub ever. I think R. must be doing it. Or the cleaner. Or the faeries.
  • Or the toilet - now toilets I have cleaned before. And I don't just mean peeing under the rim to get the chunky bits out. But I must admit I have been somewhat lax in my Water Closet detailing of late. Again, I don't think I've done it in a couple of years. See my previous answer on possible options.

    So all in all, I guess, I'd probably get a C+. Or maybe a B-.

    I guess Boxx is right!

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com