Latest Older
Wakey Wakey.Wakey Wakey.

2005-01-12 - 7:33 a.m.
I think R. is a little ticked at me this morning. She's probably right.
J. leaves for school at 6:15 am.
We woke up at 6:05 this morning, a little later than normal.
We both want J. to take more responsibility, and one of the ways of doing that is getting himself up for school.
So at 6:05 I get up and go turn the coffee on. I look down the hall to see if J. is up yet. He isn't, so I start to head down to his room.

"Don't wake him up"
"Why not?"
"Because he needs to get up on his own."
"Okay."

6:07 am. 8 minutes to go. Now I'm thinking, I know R. has a class today. If J. misses the bus, then one of us will have to take him to school. R. can't without being late for her class.
I would be late also, but no-one is there at that time in the morning to give a shit except me...

6:08 am. R. is in the bathroom. I go wake him up. Which is a bit like repeatedly poking a bear with a stick.

"I didn't want to drive him to school"
"What?"
"I woke him up"
"...because you didn't want to drive him to school."
"Right"

I take a shower and get out. J. has gone.

"You don't have to worry about taking him to school."
"I don't mind taking him to school,...".

Well, I do, but only because he can be a really PITA first thing in the morning.

"...but if I can't wake him up and he misses the bus and then I have to take him to school, that doesn't seem fair."
"You've got to give him a chance to wake up first. His alarm is set for 6:10 am"
"Ok, well if you both think that's enough time then I'm fine with that."

And I am. Sort of. I don't think it's enough time, but then I'm an old fart that takes twice that long to get ready for bed, so I accept that my view may be skewed.

But R. is still mad at me for waking him up when she told me not to.

She's right. But I would have liked to have known that his alarm was set for 6:10 am.

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com