Latest Older
Screwed but no dinnerScrewed but no dinner

2006-10-14 - 5:56 p.m.
I rarely do personal entries these days, but I felt this one needed writing.

There is a high likelihood that I will get fired on Monday. The company I work for has asked me to do something I believe is illegal and unethical. I asked them to check with their lawyers, they say the don't need to because its legal. I asked them to tell the employees what they're doing they said there is no need. I'm not going to go into details, but its basically a programming change which benefits the company and negatively impacts half of our employees.

I have refused to do it. I have never refused an order before. I've been given ridiculous things to do, stupid things to do and bizarre things to do. But this I find unethical. Unfortunately, since the company bought back all its shares two years ago it is no longer a public company and the illegality is not a federal offense so I cannot get protection under whistle blower status. My boss thinks I'm crazy. The other developers agree with me but are too long in the tooth to risk their jobs by saying no.

I am on my own, except for my family who supports me. If I do what they ask it will be the first time in my life I will have deliberately done something I believe to be morally wrong. Leaving aside that I would feel like a bitch.

So I guess I will be looking for new employment, and eating away at our savings because while I do so.

But I think I will be a better person for it.

Let's hope so. If not I'm gonna be pissed...

Any words of support or general comments are gratefully appreciated. Thought provoking ones may get printed.

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com