Latest Older
Tenets and TantrumsTenets and Tantrums

2003-05-13 - 8:41 p.m.
It intrigues me how addictive this diary thing is...

I hope my ramblings are occasionally interesting to you, gentle reader - I know that writing this stuff down helps me clarify my thoughts, emotions and goals.

I've got a pretty good idea of what the main tenets will be for the tradition.

The overall goal of the training in this tradition is to increase one's emotional, physical and intelligence quotients while lowering your Asshole Quotient.

So although there will be stuff about deities, herbs, duality and all the usual good stuff, the key tenets that are specific to the tradition will include these:

  • Exercise at least 1 hour/week more than you are currently doing.
  • Read at least once per lunar cycle
  • Provide unconditional pleasure to your partner at least once per lunar cycle (Leave a comment if you have suggestions for this one!)
  • Create something tangible once per year
  • Study and apply Critical Thinking skills
  • Keep a record of all tenet related activities in your 'Record book' (aka Book of Shadows)
  • Identify, study and honor your deities
  • Study at least one other religion, tradition or pantheon per year

    In addition to the tenets, there are precepts that need to be observed, and I'll flesh those out shortly. Other things I have to do:

  • Develop training material for the tenets
  • Develop training material for the standard wicca stuff, although I might get around this by letting people 'Clep' this bit if they've studied for a year and a day already.
  • Develop the degree system
  • Develop the deity structure and correspondences
  • Develop the tradition colors, sigils and motto
  • Come up with a name for the damn thing.

    Current favorites for the name:

  • Circle of Divine Life
  • Circle of Divine Pleasure
  • Path of the Divine Human

    Let me know what you think of all this, I'm always willing to entertain suggestions :)

    R. told me that KS. may start some crap, since he is apparently still pissed at us, which is a shame. Here's what happened:

    An elder of KS and R's tradition, whom everyone that was dead, turned out not to be dead after all, and contacted me to make some corrections to the tradition information on PaganNews.com

    Now, this person has a life in the real world, and really didn't want to get re-involved with the craft thing in a big way, so I made the corrections and continued to correspond with him for a while.

    Then he asked if I knew anyone in the local community that he could talk to about how the tradition had evolved since he founded it. Well I emailed KS first, but he didn't reply (turned out later he didn't check his email), so then I asked R. to ask her H Pts if I could give him (the elder) her (the H Pts) email address. She was very happy for me to do this, and I duly did it. Now right about the time this was going on, KS called, and since I thought he would get a kick out of it, I told him this elder had communicated with me, and that he was clearly alive and well, but didn't want to get too involved with the community. KS said he quite understood and agreed to play it cool.

    Well next thing I know, he's calling this guy in the middle of the night! He found his phone number and just big fat called him.

    So now I'm pissed because it looks like I've been giving this guys info out to all and sundry which isn't the case at all, so I write a very short letter of apology to him for the intrusion by KS.

    The following morning, I check my email, and KS is crawling all over me like a cheap suit, ripping me up one side and down the other in a nastygram.

    After several exchanges I finally get him calmed down, and I think we're square, but since the Elder has decided he only wanted to deal with the H Pts (surprisingly ;>) , KS is now pissed as all get out, and hasn't spoken to me since. This is a real shame, because I like KS, and I don't feel like I did anything wrong, other than attempt to apologize for his behavior. I had trusted him with information and he abused it, and intruded on the personal life of someone who didn't want that intrusion. This action hurt my integrity, and probably also pooched any chance of me getting a decent job with this guy, who happens to be a CIO and with whom I would love to work.

    Oh well, these things are sent to try us. What do you think? How much of the blame lays with me here? Should I have just not emailed at all? or not told KS?

    let me know - I don't get people sometimes ....

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com