Latest Older
Test thisTest this

2003-06-10 - 5:10 p.m.

I drove up Commerce St in downtown Dallas, and passed the place where the Music died. I was on my way to take the MEPS test and I couldn't help wondering what will my part be in history? Will I endure a similar fate, but with less acclaim to go with it?

Probably. Who the hell knows. My next neighbor was extremely inspiring. "I joined the Naval Reserves and they sent me off to Korea within six months! Nearly got my ass shot off."
Thanks V., appreciate the encouragement :>

I remembered the Federal Building from picking up an applicant friend of mine from there once, and so I had a reasonable idea what to expect. I parked the car in the next city (which is the only option in Downtown Dallas during the week), summoned a team of Sherpas then walked back to the Fed. building.

Security. Glasses, keys, change, plastic container. No beep, so reload and up we go to the fourth floor along with two other applicants, both barely old enough to drive it seems to me.

I wait with the other applicants for about an hour, then go in for testing. Only one of them has the balls to talk to me instead of just staring:

"You joining the Naval Reserves?"
"Yep"
"You're kind of..well.."
"Yep - snuck in under the wire." I smile. He smiles, but is still confused. He has to ask.
"Why?"


I've been kind of curious about that too. Let's see what I come up with.
"'Cos I've done a lot of stuff, but I ain't done this"

That's it??? That's why I'm doing this? Just because I haven't DONE it before?? Ok.. Just so long as I know. Must make a note to get the medication upped.

So this aptitude test. Well problem number 1, its NOT an aptitude test. Okay , maybe bits of it are. But I got 59/60 last night on Test the Nation and that was only cause I marked the wrong box on one of them, so I should have aced this test. I know I normally test in the 140-160 range on IQ tests. THIS was not an IQ test. It was not what I would call an aptitude test either. For a start they asked a bunch of questions that you had to know the answers to! No don't look at me like that. I mean there were questions on there that you had to already know ahead of time what something was. For example: How do you measure Cats? (Not a real question, just don't want to give out any national secrets). Don't know the answer? Well that's cause you haven't been around them. By the same token I don't spend my time under the hood of a car or in a shop, so how the hell should I know what to do with a truss-flange or sprocket-wobbler??? I mean come on gimme a break. Now if Steve Recruiter had said 'There's going to be some question on Engines and mechanical stuff' I might have studied up on it. Instead all I was told was - "Its just an aptitude test - All you need to take in with you is a sunny disposition"

Yeah well I've half a mind to take the tests results and tell Steve to shove 'em, where the sunny disposition don't shine....

In fact I don't know how well (or how badly) I did. I won't know until tomorrow. When I do know, I'll let you know.... Fingers crossed, please!!!

Today's Website

  • Webby awardsThink I'll enter PaganNews next year...

    Today's Quote

    "Conformity is the jailer of freedom and the enemy

    of growth."

    -John F. Kennedy (1917-63)

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com