Latest Older
Enhanced GeeknessEnhanced Geekness

2003-06-17 - 7:14 p.m.
"Your program really sucks, Catpewk"
"Well, I'm glad you think that, because if you told me it didn't suck, I wouldn't ever believe another word you said."

JW laughed. He's as tall as me, which is unusual, and a lot like me which is scary. We have a hard time getting on because of this. On the one hand it would be great to go out and have a beer and chill out together. But whether we would ever do that, or something else such as beating the living crap out of each other...well the odds are about 50/50.

I'd trundled my first ABAP program into the test system. Yes I knew it sucked, but it worked, and I knew I could make other programs work too, and that's what matters to me right now. Later on I can learn about the nuances of ABAP and particularly ABAP in the HR system, but for now, I'm happy to be able to pull data from any tables I want, combine them and produce highly usable output. JW wants me to use the Standard SAP wacky logic cycle approach for coding these dumb-ass reports. I prefer SQL.

"Yeah, I've heard a lot of people talk about how SQL is faster and more efficient, but this is the way SAP recommends you do it." he says.

"That's fine, I can learn their way of doing it, I just have a hard time with the idea that I have to do a serial read on every damn record in the table and throw away the ones I don't want, instead of just pulling the recordset I want in the first place. But that's just me." I hate pulling this passive aggressive shit but sometimes its just easier just to let people think they've one. JW codes Human Resources and Payroll, and he is an awesome ABAP-er. But I need to be able to code across all areas of the system, and the HR logic cycle isn't going to get me dick when trying to do that. So give me SQL, or give me death. If any of you geeks out there have a comment or opinion on this, I'd love to hear it. For anyone else who may be just hearing clicking noises, I apologize. I'll turn off geek mode now.

I had a little too much wine last night and emailed some of my buddies from England and told them about the diary. So a big 'hi' to these two chaps:

Try not to snort coffee this time, Dave :>

Alright that's it for now, hope you guys like the new layout!

Today's Website:

  • My old School

    Today's Quote:

    "He is rich or poor according to what he is, not according to what he has."

    - Henry Ward Beecher

    Today's go-find-it Video:

    Johnny Cash, singing 'Hurt'

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com