Latest Older
Have a Sirius kind of SundayHave a Sirius kind of Sunday

2003-07-13 - 10:14 a.m.
Sunday Morning

Yesterday I got a hair cut and got my eyes checked for new glasses. They haven't changed much over the past ten years since I went last, but my old pair is falling apart. R. got contacts! Despite having an astigmatism, the technology has apparently finally progressed far enough that she can now wear them. She was like a dog with two tails all day!

I have to get ready for Atlanta today. Pack my suitcase figure out when where and how I get the plane, car and where the hotel is.

I tried waking R. up but she drifted back off again. J. is up. In fact the little bugger has been up all night! I know this because I linked to his computer and ran a find on all files updated in the past 24 hours. He was on all night long, except for an hour after we went to bed. Probably waiting for us to sack out. That took a while, because mercifully my toothache had died down, and my libido had ramped up. So I gave R. a playful little massage with Aura Glow Lavender Scented oil and then...well that's between me and R.

Bella is helping me type this morning. At least she sees it as helping. Sitting on my lap and nudging or occasionally biting my fingers. Now she has planted herself between me and the screen and is watching me type the letters on the screen. She's lousy at spell-checking though, so I don't really see the point...

I figured out how to make a time machine. At least a partial one. This time machine would allow you to see the past, as far back as the point where the time machine was invented. Here's how it works:

When you look at the star Sirius, you're looking 8.5 years into the past, because it takes 8.5 light years for light to travel from that star to here. Likewise, it takes that long for light from earth to reach Sirius. So if we erect a huge mirror in orbit around Sirius, and point it at the Earth, then light from Earth will bounce back to Earth in (8.5 x 2 =) 17 years. Then all we need is a really powerful telescope.

Simple, eh? Well not simple exactly, but theoretically possible at least. You can extrapolate all the rest of the possibilities from there, of which there are many - I'm just giving you something to run with this morning :)

I still want ideas about where to go in Atlanta, so keep 'em coming. Don't worry about the strip club ones though, I doubt I'll be taking advantage of them. I currently pay $700/month child support for my last visit to a strip club in 1991. No, I am not kidding!

Alright I guess that's it for today. I should call my mom this morning, so I better go do that now.

If I'm late updating, you'll know its because I couldn't get a decent internet connection in Atlanta...

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com