Latest Older
Guiness and GeographyGuiness and Geography

2003-07-17 - 3:55 p.m.
"Does this guy even know the geography of the area?"
"No, and he's not too swift on the physics either".

The taxi driver (and I use the term 'driver' only to differentiate him from the other six people he had crammed into his Ford Taurus) had absolutely no clue what he was doing. The driver from our hotels to Midtown should have taken 20 minutes. After an hour, when we'd passed the same accident three times, we finally demanded he stop at a gas station. Three of us piled out and asked various bystanders for directions, then armed with a consensus of opinion squeezed back into the ridiculously overcrowded cab and made him follow our directions until 2 minutes later we arrived where we wanted to be.

This was last night, after class. Steve the instructor had suggested we all go out somewhere, and in the end six of us turned up at the Doubletree and headed out from there to Midtown Atlanta. The first stop, an hour and a half late was the Surina Thai restaurant (I think that was the name of it). The food was good, although a little expensive. After dinner, we wandered around for a while before finally agreeing to go to the Limerick Pub, where for some reason Randy immediately started talking with an Irish accent and telling jokes that made no sense. Or at least made sense, but weren't funny. Except in the sense that it was funny that they weren't funny. If you know what I mean.

Chucking out time in Atlanta is 3:00am, but we bailed around 12:30 I think and this time we were able to get a van (which is what we had ordered in the first place). I called R. as soon as we got out of the pub, but I think she was a bit upset that I hadn't called her earlier. Plus I was a little tipsy after three pints of guiness and two glasses of wine. I call her here in a while. I'm staying in tonight. Everyone else is going out again, including those who didn't go out last night, but I really need to get packed and my stomach started getting messed up after lunch today. Maybe the SAP Meatloaf is to blame...

The class itself is really good. I've learned a lot. We did screens today, something I haven't played with yet so that was good.

Well that's it I guess. Not sure if I'm going to eat dinner tonight or not - I'll have to see how the tummy does. In the meantime I need to start packing up my junk ready for the morning. My flight is at 7:08P tomorrow. It will be nice to get back home. There a nice bunch of people here that I probably won't see again, and didn't even get to know well. There's something very sad about that, I just don't know what it is exactly...

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com