Latest Older
Strange MondayStrange Monday

2003-09-16 - 7:36 a.m.
"Good afternoon, my name is Catpewk and I've been working with SAP HR for about three years now, so I'll be happy answer any questions I can for you. We're going to start today with Navigation, but before that, lets go through some housekeeping items."

{My Cellphone Rings}

"First, please turn off your cell phones"
(Laughter). I go to turn mine off, not intending to look at the number. I see it. R. is calling. R. knows I have class today. Why is she calling.

"Sorry about this, Excuse me one second"
I hit talk. "Can I call you right back?"
"Ok, but please call back right away!"
Hmmm. R. doesn't sound happy.
"Ok, lets run over the agenda." We do, then I pause "Would you excuse me for just one second please?"

Out in the hall, I call her back.

"What's going on?"
"H. found mom semi-conscious in the bathroom throwing up blood. He threw her in the truck and took her to Harris Emergency, but when he got there he was so upset he had trouble breathing, so they stuck him in a room too, and they're doing an EKG."
"Oh my God. What's your mom's situation?"
"I don't know, but it doesn't look good." R's. voice was cracking on that last sentence. She was scared. I had to go. "Ok, let me figure something out, and I'll call you back."

I went looking for another IT guy, and found the help desk top kick. "Top, I need your help." I explained the situation to him. "Someone else has to take over class. Find JR, and tell him to get Judy or Tim. They've taught class before. This first day is just presentations. I'll wing it in there until JR comes to let me know he found someone."
"Got it."
Top is cool, he used to be a T Sgt. in the Rangers and he knows how to follow and execute orders in a hurry without peeing into his shoes.

I went back into class and started teaching. Or fluffing. Babbling wildy perhaps is a better term.

"This is an input box. See, you can put things in it. That's why its called in-put." Someone shoot me.

JR arrived with the cavalry, and I hightailed it outta there, and made for Harris Methodist Hospital, which is in downtown Fort Worth and a longer drive from Irving than from Mansfield.

When I got there, I pulled my book out of the car. This is not my first trip to the ER for R's parents...

R. and her brother were outside smoking. She had calmed down a lot and it was beginning to look like just another medication induced crisis. Sorry if that sounds cynical, but you kinda have to be in the middle of it to understand. H. did not have a normal EKG, but he convinced the Doc that since the quadruple bypass he hasn't had one anyway, so abnormal is normal for him. They discharged him. It seemed easier. R's mom is altered, fading in and out of reality, and no-one seems to know what the hell is wrong with her. But they suspect over-medication. As usual. R. was not happy about that. I wasn't expecting anything different. I don't usually go on these little jaunts which occur about three of four times a year, but R. had seemed really scared this time, and since my first duty is to her, I tagged along.

Apart from a fire in the laundry building at the hospital, the rest of the afternoon was uneventful, so we headed home.

My Tai-Kwon-Do Gi had turned up, which is good. I still need to do my cord before Mabon. Maybe I'll do that tonight.

I read most of the evening. I'm reading Burnt Offerrings right now. The sixth book in the Anita Blake - Vampire Hunter series. R. has picked them up and is on number 3 I think, the Lunatic Cafe. I almost stopped after reading Bloody Bones. I can't believe she slept with Jean-Claude! Anita that is, not R....

Alright, I better make the most of the last hour before I start class. Have a great Tuesday!

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com