Latest Older
Monday bluesMonday blues

2003-09-22 - 3:24 p.m.
I am running out of reasons not to write. My musical ability, which used to be passable, has dropped to previously unexplored depths. I have to admit that I'm crap at Heretic 2, at least in deathmatch mode, and so I'm playing it less and less. I've justed started what I believe is the last book in the Anita Blake - Vampire Hunter series (Narcissus in Chains). I watch maybe half an hour of TV a night. I am out of options. I am going to have to write another damn book. The final nail in the coffin of my procrastination is that I also know what I have to write it about, which is Ninth Wave Spiritualism. I am getting called to write the damn thing by every essence of my being, and if I don't start it soon, I'll start behaving strangely. Or to be more specific, I'll start behaving in ways that are strangely different from the strange ways I normal behave in.

So if I start writing less on here, you'll know why. This will be my second book. Anyone who doesn't know what the first one is (and you can figure it out with a little work), let me know, and I'll email you. You can get it on Amazon.com or books.com, but I'm probably going to change publisher's at the end of the year, so it may go out of print for a couple of months. Buy it now while you have the chance is my advice....

In case you're wondering why I think my musical ability sucks, allow me to demonstrate. Here is a verse from a song some of you will know.

She longs for the East and a pale dress flowing
an apartment in old Mayfair.
Or to fish the Spey, spinning the first run of Spring
or to die for a cause somewhere.

Now here's an example of my lyrics, written last weekend:

I can't write one lousy love song,
Occasionally I'll nail the tune and then I'll get the words wrong,
I program in 8 languages my VB really is strong,
but I can't write one lousy love song

See what I mean? Combine the lyrics with a Ska beat, and a voice that sounds like an elephant with bronchial pneumonia, and you get the idea. I used to be in the choir when I was in school. Now I can't carry a tune in a bucket. I can hit two notes, and there both flat. In case anyone's is confused, The music from Johnnypop and the Snow Monkeys I posted recently has nothing to do with me musically speaking, they are just friends I'm trying to get exposed. So although I'll piddle around when my midi kit turns up (assuming I can get it to work) I will basically concentrate on writing over the next few months, and then we'll see...

Have a great Monday, what's left of it!

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com