Latest Older
Thursday the twenty-fifthThursday the twenty-fifth

2003-09-25 - 7:16 a.m.
I arrived at work so early this morning, even the cockroaches were still up, chittering across the floor as they headed home after a long night eating off of postage stamps or doing whatever it is cockroaches do.

I'm tired. I slept good last night, but I took a Benadryl because otherwise I think my mind would have been racing, and Benadryl always gives me a bit of a hangover.

The reason my mind would have been racing is this. My son is coming to see me! My son, whom I haven't seen in 9 years. My son, who if you put all the days we've been together end to end they wouldn't amount to a week. My son, born of a brief interlude with a Stripper in Tulsa, and who ended up costing me $700/month in child support. My son is coming to see me!

His mom called me yesterday and explained that although physically and mentally he excels at everything he does, emotionally he is messed up. He has no father figure, and he wants me in his life. I've always wanted him, but every time we tried to make a arrangements something would happen that would stop him visiting. Or it would be the wrong weekend. Or some damn thing. But this time he is coming, I know it - I can feel it! My son is coming to visit! I will post a picture of him as soon as my scanner is working. He'll be 12 in November. He's a straight A student and he's on the varsity football team and the coach wants to make him a quarterback. His mom told me other stuff about that, but I don't understand football, although apparently its a big deal. I'll try and find out more info when I can. And I'll post a picture if I ever get that ratfink scanner working.

Speaking of ratfink hardware, My Voyetra MIDI to USB software and cables turned up last night. And guess what? Yep that's right - IT DOESN'T WORK. Having eliminated the software, the cables and the computers as a potential source of problems, I'm left only with the sad but most likely conclusion that the MIDI connection in the Casio CTK-611 does not work. Which blows...

So now I'm screwed, unless I buy another keyboard, which seems a little extravagant. Besides, I really like the keyboard I have. I'd just like it more if the damn MIDI worked on it. If anyone has any ideas about this, please let me know. Yes, I've checked the cables. Yes, I've tried different computers and different drivers. No, it doesn't give me an error message. The computer reports no errors, but no data either. I am looking perhaps for something on the keyboard itself that needs to be set, although there doesn't appear to be anything. Everything is hooked up okay, but it won't send or receive. This is probably more than most of you want or need to know, so I'll get off now and start this Thursday, and see where it takes me :)

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com