Latest Older
Dreams, Doom and Cheese.Dreams, Doom and Cheese.

2003-09-26 - 7:45 a.m.
Friday.

I am unsettled this morning. I had a disturbing dream last night. Portions of it were lucid. It was in color.

In the dream, I was at a party that I had been invited to by this guy I didn't remember meeting. There were a few people there. The guys were mostly crass dumbasses, and the women were a little too thin and all had marks on their skin like mine (PLEVA). They were clearly aroused though and kept trying to get close to me but I was thinking of R. and holding back. The house and grounds that the party was held in were awful. Messed up, bits of debris, garbage and half finished projects everywhere. Hardly any furniture. Dismantled electronic stuff. It occurred to me that the people who lived here spent a lot of their time 'tweaking' on Crack. At one point, mein host asked me to retrieve his checkbook from the sofa. He trusted me with it, but not the others that were sitting there. I got it from between the cushions and handed it to him.

As the party started to wind down, I finally had a chance to ask him "How did I meet you?" as I spoke, he turned to me and smiled, and I saw his eyes and ears glow blue. I knew then that I was dreaming and I had a good idea of who he was. He confirmed that by showing me a series of pictures (like trading cards) representing the ranks of his minions. I asked him if he really wanted to do what he was going to do.

"It will proceed" he told me in a voice that sounded like someone had tried to dissolve his vocal chords with Sulfuric Acid. I started to wake, but on the threshold of that dream, I held the connection and saw my life and some of the key players in it with more clarity. My wife. Her son. My Son. My mum. Her sister. My father. My boss. My sister. The PLEVA. My boss at a company I worked at for about a month, but left because I felt uneasy. Me, and some of the ways I secure myself (I can't explain that, and I can't explain why I can't explain that, sorry). R. is my rock, my heart, my protection. My sister is my touchstone. My father (even now) and my boss provide me with protection. My mum was the vessel, my sister the wildcard, and my aunt the reason my sister is with us. I'll explain all about that little deal at some point. It is relevant, I now understand. All this I understood, and then I was shown what I already feared, but hoped could be avoided. We are in danger of becoming extinct. No aliens are going to come and save us. No God is going to intervene on our behalf. We are screwing ourselves, without dinner or even a kiss. The weapon we have not used in 60 years but have held onto for all that time is like the cheese, left forgotten at the back of the fridge; sooner or later, it will go off. I don't think this is the last time I will get to talk with this particular person, if person is the right word. But it was disturbing, and so I am unsettled today, more than I am usually unsettled. There is always the background noise and guilt and fear that comes from living in this age, but the dream last night gave it a name. And that name is War. Big, bad, ugly, global, thermonuclear war. So pucker up boys and girls. I reckon we have less than 10 years to turn this thing around or else anyone not wearing SPF 40,000 is going to have a really really bad sunburn.

Alternatively of course, it could have been the cheesy chicken I had last night for dinner...

In addition to which I saw the American version of the BBC show 'Coupling', which was bizarre. Now I'm a big fan of Coupling, as you can see by the banner I run at the bottom of this weblog. But it just made me squirm last night to watch the american actors read the script that I've seen permormed by the english actors. It didn't feel right. The characters were wrong. Why didn't they just buy the rights and show the UK version in that timeslot? That would have made more sense, and would probably have been cheaper... Some of the jokes translated well, but other stuff was chopped out all together which was annoying. And the guy playing Jeff really is not getting it. He should be more of a Kramer character (or preferably, just get Welsh Jeff to come back and reprise his role).

Anyway, that's just my opinion...

Have a good Friday!

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com