Latest Older
Pi spelled backwards is DogPi spelled backwards is Dog

2003-10-02 - 7:16 a.m.
Thursday.

Thursday is a day without an identity, kind of like Tuesday. I mean its not the start or end of the week, and its not humpday. I think Thursdays should be taken off the calendar. Better all round, don't you think?

I got home last night to find R's car in the driveway, which is highly unusual. She usually is home at least an hour and a half after me.

I found her on the couch huddled up in a blanket, coughing and generally feeling sorry for herself, poor thing!

She appears to have contracted some kind of nasty bug that's going around. I went and got her an expectorant and nyquil from Eckerds, plus thera-flu for me an J. I also bought R. a three-pack of Ferraro Rocher to cheer her up.

"Drink This"
"Why?"
"So you don't get sick like your mom."
"Ha! I've been trying to get her to cough on me all afternoon so I don't have to go to school tomorrow."
"Go wash the dishes."
"awwww."
"...and then do your homework."

I sprayed the house with Lysol, gave R. some Tussin, then fixed dinner. Well when I say fixed, I went to Pizzahut.com and chose the toppings.

Star Trek and West Wing were on last night. I missed about 10 minutes of Star Trek because I couldn't find the cigarettes I'd bought on the way home, so I had to go back to the store and buy more, then walked back in the door and found the old pack. Most of my brain is sharp, active and alert. But there is one section of it that loses keys and cigarettes; that can't remember why I walked into a room; that forgets peoples names (including mine), sabotages my sentences and puts my socks on inside out. If I found out exactly where that section of brain is, I'm going to inject it with Tequila until it hollers Uncle.

West Wing was good too, but it was kind of anti-climactic at the end. John Goodman's character didn't fight to keep hold of the office, which is what I'd have expected. Martin Sheen didn't bust down the door of some terrorist safe house with the FBI to find his daughter. Basically no wrecks and nobody drown-ded - in fact nothing to laugh at, at all...

What else? I've been reading the Qabballah, and I think I've found the name of God. Yes I know its God, I mean the ineffable name. Assuming that the Jewish mystics actually were given a clue as to the name, then this may work, so bear with me. All Hebrew letters are also numbers. So the name of deity (Sh'D'I) is 314. But the name is ineffable, so how can it be that?

I thought about that for a while. 314. 3 point 14. The first three characters of Pi. So the name of God is PI, pronounced in hebrew. The tricky bit then becomes the break out of the letters. If we treat them in groups of three, the first part (or perhaps the last part) is 314 159 265 or shin-yod-dalet-kuf-nun-tet-resh-samech-heh. But PI is a unique, non-recurring number that has not been (or perhaps cannot) be calclated to its last place. It is ineffable.

So what do you think about that? It has a certain symmetry to it don't you think? - The name of God is so long only a God could pronounce it (although Lillith apparently used it one time). My guess is that it is so long that a human could not pronounce it in their lifetime, so its kind of a safety catch for the Universe. Good thinking - last thing I'd need if I was god would be some damn talking monkey uttering my name everytime they got a hangnail.

I could be wrong, of course - this is based on a lot of assumptions, not the least of which are the existence of god, and the accuracy of the Jewish mystics information. But what the hell, I don't think anyone else has come up with this particular one before, so Kudos to me :>

Have a great Thursday! P.S. I've put some pics of the kitties up on the right hand side, and I'll be tinkering with the template a little, so excuse the mess :)

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com