Latest Older
Flu-induced A.D.D.Flu-induced A.D.D.

2003-10-07 - 6:34 a.m.
Tuesday. I think.

Today is a semi-working-from-home-while-I-fight-off-this-crap day.

Yesterday I finished 'Children of the Mind' by Orson Scott Card, which is the last book in the Ender Quartet, but not the last book in the Ender series. I guess he changed his mind and wrote some more books around the main character...

Children of the Mind addressed a concept I've had in my own mind for some time: That the 'essence' of what makes us 'us' is not the 3lbs of meat in our head, but something smaller and non-biological. I had considered it like a virus that exists in a symbiotic relationship with man, fleeing a dying body and moving quickly to the next one being born. Scott-Card refers to it as the 'Aiau' and suggests that it exists Outside - i.e. beyond our Universe in an alternate plane, and gets called into this plane whenever a sentient being is born.

Sorry, I just got distracted reading something in the Qabbalah, and don't know how to finish the previous paragraph, so I'll just kind of trail off....

The Qabbalah/Qabala/Kaballah is some complex shit. The big question is, how old is it? More specifically is it old enough to be meaningful, and perhaps useful in locating God's unlisted phone number? And if it is, and I can decipher it, should I crank-call him? Probably not. God would probably have some really kick-ass unblockable caller-ID, and he probably wouldn't appreciate getting sent an anchovy pizza if he didn't order it.

But then who the hell does eat anchovy pizza? I mean what is an anchovy anyway? Isn't it like a small fish? On a pizza, that's just wrong, IMHO.

Ok, looks like the drugs are kicking in nicely...guess I better try and do some work while I can still focus....

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com