Latest Older
EffemyEffemy

2003-10-20 - 8:47 a.m.
At some point in their diaryland life, everyone, I now see, eventually stumbles over the diary of Effemy Cole.

Effemy's life was normal, then rocky, then wonderful, then horribly damaged and finally destroyed, and it is in those last phases that we get to meet her. Please visit read her. I felt very close to R. after reading this, in a way I hadn't experienced before. I mean we've always been close obviously (hell, we got married, didn't we?), but this was something else. A final understanding that without her...I was going to say 'my life wouldn't be worth living'. But I think a more accurate statement would be 'I wouldn't live this life'. I would downgrade, move sideways and restart somewhere else.

So it's Monday again. We watched 'The Office' last night, which was excruciating painful and wonderful. It's always wierd to see the opening parts of the show, because that is my home town they're showing. For better or worse, I was born and raised in and around Slough. Americans may not be familiar with Slough, so I would add that the Poet Laureate, Sir John Betjemen was so 'moved' by the towns horrible industrialism, that he wrote a Poem about it. The Poem begins:

Come friendly bombs and fall on Slough!

It isn't fit for humans now,

There isn't grass to graze a cow.

Swarm over, Death!

Nice, eh? You can read the rest of it here .

I almost didn't come to work today. We stayed up later than I intended last night, so I took two Benadryl. It's the chemical equivalent of beating yourself over the head repeatedly with a Baseball bat. You sleep pretty soundly, but feel real groggy in the morning. I did venture in finally, and so now I had better find something useful and constructive to do with my day. It's not like I don't have a list as long as your arm to work on. It's just that some of the requests are so damn ridiculous and inconsequential that I have to wonder what the hell is the point of wasting my time on this? To which the answer is of course 'So they keep paying you.'

Hmmm...have a good Monday. I'm going to work on my escape plan...

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com