Latest Older
Who let the chimps out?Who let the chimps out?

2003-10-27 - 3:53 p.m.
Most of the time I'm pretty easy going, but there are two kinds of people that really get on my wick.

The first lot is actually easier to deal with. People who pride themselves on being stupid. You know the kind. They attempt to make you look stupid for asking a question, and they love not knowing the answer. They tend to be bigoted, pigheaded and incapable of taking responsibility for their actions or their lives. These people are easy to deal with. I ignore them. I stay away from them. I would prefer they were drowned at birth rather than being allowed to breed, but given that in most cases I'm unlikely to be granted the power to intercede and take such actions, I content myself with staying the fuck away from them.

The second group is a lot harder to deal with, and impossible to ignore. They tend to be intelligent people that really want to know the answers and ask a lot of questions but have no concept of priorities, time or appropriateness. I have to deal with these people on a regular basis. These are the kind of people that will happily stand there and ask you how to convert fahrenheit to centigrade while your house is burning down. They are so thirsty for knowledge, that when you work with them on a project, they suck the life blood out of you by continually asking, usally from a purely philosophical standpoint, why things are the way they are.

And that's how my day was today. I took today to work at home and hammer out some changes on a system that no-one is going to use, but which needed doing because someone with more stock options and less brain cells than me thinks it will get used.

Now I have assistance with this project. Someone from another department who checks the data for me and tests stuff and things like that. Unfortunately, although they are intelligent and sweet, they are also young an inexperienced, and so continually ask questions that anyone who has been in the business arena for more than 2 months knows the answers to. I recognize that this is their first job, and so I cannot risk traumatizing them by simply telling them to fuck off and leave me alone, but I really wish they would fuck off and leave me alone.

I spent about two hours today answering the same question phrased in a myriad of different ways, and which always boiled down to the same thing:

"I'm confused. Why are we doing it this way?"
"Because this is the way we agreed it should be done, and its the right way to do it"
"But what if we did it this way?"
"Then we would be in a big pile of dog doo-doo."
"But would it work?"
"Yes, it would work, but it would not work very well, and would be harder to maintain."
"Oh....So what way are we doing it?"
"The way we agreed. We're doing it this way. This way is The Way".
"Ah ok. And why are we doing it this way?"
"....."
"Why is that blood vessel on the side of your head doing that?"

I've decided that most people who go postal don't do it because their job sucks, or because their wife left them or because their life has somehow become a Jerry Springer episode. I now truly believe that most people who go postal do so because they are surrounded by BLOODY IDIOTS!!!!!!

Diaryland helps keep me sane and stops me killing people. Here I get to read the thoughts and deeds of intelligent people in similar situations, and it just makes me feel better, less alone.

Although I have a bunch of people in my buddy list, there are some that I read sometimes, and others that I read every day. These are the ones I read every day. I read them because they are intelligent people dealing with the stupidity of life. They are not all the same. They are all different. Some are young, naive and full of hope, others are older, wiser and full of shit. But good shit :> They all see life differently, but they all see themselves as responsible for their lives and are aware of the lives of the people they touch. That's why I read 'em. And here they are:

  • trancejen
  • politics101
  • squirrelx
  • tia-marie
  • sarahsundae
  • xmoon-childx
  • iyoyo
  • prostituee

    There are others, of course, but they may not update as regularly. The ones above always get read by me when they update. They make me feel better. Sometimes because its nice to know someone's life sucks more than yours does, sometimes because its nice to be able to cheer for someone else to take your mind off your own problems, and sometimes just because its nice to know that there are still people out there that don't need to be machine-gunned into a bloody pulp for the better good of humanity. So please, take the time to read a couple of entries from them. If you like them, then my work here today has not been in vain - which is more than can be said for the rest of my day...

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com