Latest Older
Farewell ole curry o' mine.Farewell ole curry o' mine.

2003-10-28 - 1:41 p.m.
Jack Astor's has had a makeover. They took away all the waitresses tshirts that said things like 'I broke my own home' and 'Even my invisible friend won't play with me' and gave them all short black skirts and hose. They also did some remodelling, though as far as I can see they just knocked down a wall and moved the TV screens around a bit. They made new shiny menus and took away my Thai Chicken Coconut Curry!. I'd been looking forward to that ever since they closed for remodelling!

I was whining about this to one of the waitresses today and she talked to the chef and tomorrow they're going to make a special one just for me. Which is a nice gesture, I'll admit. I may even have it with rice, just for shits and giggles. Normally I don't have rice with it, because the coconut, sauce and nuts supply enough carbs for the day. Since eating at Jack Astor's on a weekday, I've lost 37lbs.

So tomorrow, I will eat my last Thai Chicken Curry, and it will be a bitter sweet day. I don't care how short the damn skirts are, I am not a happy camper if the waitress is fresh and the food isn't.

At least they didn't succumb to this damn 'style' thing which seems to be infecting more and more waitstaff these days (on the advice or instruction of their management obviously - I'm not having a go at waitstaff). You know the thing I mean all those buttons (badges, for those of you back home) which cover them so completely you'd think they were getting armored up for the Thirty Years War.

Hmmmm. I seem to be in a feisty modd today don't I? Must be because I got dragged into a meeting for an hour so that someone could tell me something I already knew, but tell it with a thick, unintelligible oriental accent.

I usually like accents, even thick unintelligible ones. Just not when they're telling me stuff that a)I could give a crap about and/or b) am already well aware of.

Maybe that's just me. In fact I don't think the accent matters - I think I get just as annoyed about a) and b) regardless of whether its spoken to me in the Queen's English or Swahili-Pidgen.

Tonight I have to put my Christmas list together, and the first thing that is going to be on it is a new sports jacket. I hate it when I don't find out about holes in my clothes until after I've got to the office. This hole is in the elbow, which makes a change from my usual trick of burning holes in my clothes. I also need new dress slacks (black), new dress shoes (leather, laced) in black and in brown, some more Paul Sebastian cologne and socks (black 'gold toe', cotton, NOT nylon).

And that's just the stuff I need. I have no hope of getting the Camcorder, the new Midi-enabled Keyboard, music books, a new mouse, a network hard drive, entertainment center or any of the other myriad things that I can do without perfectly well but am less likely to be able to express my creativity with.

Oh well, such is life. Enjoy your Tuesday.

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com