Latest Older
Winter's first ThursdayWinter's first Thursday

2003-11-06 - 11:36 a.m.
Thursday.

Winter has landed in North Texas. It is 48 degrees out there right now. Yeck! I'm at home today. Last night when I got home, the cable was all messed up so I called and they said they'd send someone out today between 8:00 am and 8:00 pm. Then someone else called back later:

"Have you recycled your converter?"
"Yes"
"Is it on both boxes?"
"Yes"
"Did you -"
"Yes"
"How about -"
"Yes"
"Well could you -"
"I did that an hour ago"
"Oh. okay, well we just follow up to check. Someone will be out Friday."
"Thursday"
"Um, no...Friday"
"I was told Thursday. I moved heaven and earth and even my schedule to be off Thursday. We're locked in to Thursday. Forget Friday...It is of no consequence."
"I'm sorry sir, but.."
"I would like to talk to a Supervisor please. Right now..."

There was a long pause. The supervisor came on the line. I explained about the original call. I explained about my own disposition. I explained about Rule One. I smiled...

The cable guy came out this morning at 9:00 am. He couldn't fix it, but at least we know why. Some contractor up the road had been dicking with the lines. Apparently after I called several other people reported problems also. He claims it will be up by midday.

I'll believe that when I see it.

In the meantime, I am attempting to work from home. I say attempting, because although I got a decent four hours in this morning, the sodding WAN has started acting up, so its like running through treacle right now...

I got some pictures back the other day. Here is one of the three most important things to me in the world. 'A', my son, is on the left. 'J' (my stepson) is on the right of R. K. lives with her Dad, remember?

That's why she's not here. We don't get to see her very often, but she may be down in a couple of weeks, potentially at the same time as A.

Alright campers, that's all I have for you for now. Enjoy your Thursday, and wrap up warm!

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com