Latest Older
All the leaves are brownAll the leaves are brown

2003-11-24 - 7:33 a.m.

Monday, Monday

Baaa-La, Baaa-da-dum-dum
Baaa-La, Baaa-da-dum-dum

Can't trust that day...

Yeah, yeah. I know half of the regulars here have no clue what the hell the above is all about. Never mind, you don't lose any points. Music is music, in any age. If it moves your soul then its good music, for you at least. See, I've heard a lot of people get all gushy over Jazz. Not me. Some of the structured stuff is okay, but I'm really just not into it. And you really have to be into it to appreciate the subtle nuances of the way a particular trombonist played a piece on this album, and how he played it on another. Sheesh. If it works for you, I'm happy for you. Really. But it sounds like too much hard work to me.

Speaking of hard work, after a weekend spent studying, my mind is chock full of information from and for the First Knowledge Lecture of the Golden Dawn. Fortunately, about half of it, I already knew before (Signs, Planets, elements, Pentagram Ritual). The other stuff (Hebrew and the Pillars) I have my work cut out on. Mostly on the Hebrew. You'd think after all the time I spent in Israel I'd have picked up some. But no. Most people spoke either English, German or Yiddish (which is a kind a German dialect with a little hebrew thrown in for good measure).

I also need to brush up on the planetary influences. Bit rusty there it seems. All this work means that something has to give, and its going to be witchschool. I'm not abandoning it entirely. I'm going to keep studying my 2nd degree and the Qaballah/Tarot thing I'm studying now. Both of these are relevant to the GD stuff. But I am going to have to bail on such wonders as Aromatherapy, Dreamworking and Feline Magick. All of which have their own fascination, but right now are clashing with my GD mindset. The Golden Dawn is about structure, and math and spheres of control. The fuzzy bunny courses I've been taking lately are not mixing well with this stuff.

Tonight is a new moon. I think R. and I are going to do a working together for a golem to look after the house. Should be fun.

We also converted the A./K. bedroom into a smoking room, since its colder than a witch's tit out there right now ('strue - I checked :>). There's no vent to pull air out of the room and recycle it, which is good - it means the rest of the house doesn't get smokey if that room does.

Three day week this week, which I'm very happy about. It's Thanksgiving week over here for you brits. They do it every November for two days to celebrate the Indians not letting the first settlers starve. For you Americans wondering I have to explain this to my friends across the pond, it may come as a surprise to some of you, but we don't celebrate thanksgiving day in England. If we did I guess we'd have to call it 'Thanks-a-bunch-for-leaving-us-behind,-assholes' Day or something.

We also don't celebrate July 4th (and believe me, I've met people here that were just as staggered by THAT concept as they were by us not celebrating Thanksgiving). We LOST. We don't have days celebrating things that we lost. Most countries that have an Independence Day are actually celebrating kicking the British Empire out of their country.

Okay that's enough history for today I think :)

Enjoy your Monday!

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com