Latest Older
A little self-centered today, aren't we?A little self-centered today, aren't we?

2003-12-02 - 7:55 a.m.
Tuesday.

Today I'm working from home, and I need to divert all my energies to working on an outbound interace in SAP that needs to be reworked.

I remember a training seminar from years back where we were asked "If you were a car, what kind of car would you be?"

If SAP were a car, it would be a BMW X3, with hundreds of primer marks all over it where the dings and dents have been covered up. The Owner's manual would be written in german. The dashboard, steering wheel and gearshift would have been removed and replaced with instruments more commonly found in a Boeing 747. Oh, and when you turn the indicators on, the transmission slips into first gear. But the sales brochure looks really awesome!

If I were a car, what kind of car would I be? Hmmm. I guess I would be a Toyota Solara (which is basically a Coupe version of a Camry). With leather seats and simple controls, but with furry dice and strange bumper stickers plastered all over it. Oh and I would need to be serviced regularly to keep me purring. Preferably by the same mechanic each time. I like my mechanic ;>

I was pretty unhappy last night. I think partly due to lack of sleep, partly due to being a little overwhelmed. A lot of the things that were hobbies have become work. And now I have less things that I enjoy doing, and more things I have to do. That kind of sucks, doesn't it?

I have to keep remembering that however unhappy I get on occasion, I am several orders of magnitude better off than a lot of people out there.

I did get the site fixed, and I got the person who had been putting up the images to take them down, and so that's good. I'd hate to lose artists because their work was being bandied around the net without so much as a by-your-leave.

Here is a list of things I need to work on in my personal life in the next few days:

  • An article for the site on the seven archetypes of deity
  • Learning hebrew
  • Learning the meanings of the ten sephira
  • Getting presents sent off to England
  • Tidying up the bookshelf.
  • Vacuuming through the house.

    There are others, no doubt, but these are the ones that immediately come to mind.

    I also want to give you guys a little more depth about me. I need a better cast page, and I probably need to do the 100 things-about-me thing at some point. Since I've been writing for over six months now, I guess its about time :)

    I took away all the review icons, as you may have noticed. I got fed up with getting reviews from teenagers that "don't get" this diary. Every now and then, I think about doing reviews myself, but I've seen how quickly that snowballs on people, and I really don't have the time to do that. I would like to though. But, I have enough trouble reviewing books. Especially when the book is really crappy. Why is it that crappy books always have very sweet authors, that can't wait for you to get their reviews online? Speaking of which, I have two books sitting on my desk that I need to get reviews done for. Maybe I'll have a bash at those later today.

    Ho hum....Have a good Tuesday :)

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com