Latest Older
Time enough for LunchTime enough for Lunch

2003-12-05 - 7:28 a.m.
I ended up buying a big red plastic bow from target, then cutting it up and taping it over what is left of my brake light. My indicator is shot to shit, so I guess I'll only be turning left for the next week or so, until I get the car taken in.

Christmas is going to suck. Totally suck. Its going to suck because I don't have two ha'pennies to rub together to buy presents with for anyone. I need a new job. One that pays at least what I was making before I descended into the 7th circle of Hell that is occupied by my current employer.

I keep my resume fairly updated, but a lot of people seem to not like it. I'm not sure if it's got too much information on it or too little. The problem is I've done so many different things that on the one hand people think I do all these things badly, or on the other hand, I'm just making it up because no-one could possibly have such diverse knowledge.

According to Heinlein "A human being should be able to change a diaper, plan an invasion, butcher a hog, con a ship, design a building, write a sonnet, balance accounts, build a wall, set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders, give orders, cooperate, act alone, solve equations, analyse a new problem, pitch manure, program a computer, cook a tasty meal, fight efficiently, die gallantly. Specialization is for insects.". I'm a firm believer in that. There are 21 items on that list. How many can you do? Here's my Answers:

Change a DiaperYep
Plan an InvasionNo problem

Butcher a Hog

Probably. Never killed anything though, so I'm not certain.

Con a Ship

Not without more training, probably. I could navigate though.

Design a Building

Yeah - When I was a Dungeon Master, I had to do that a lot.

Write a Sonnet

I think that's pretty subjective. I mean, I can - but my songs just suck.
Balance Accounts

Yep - spent 9 years in Corporate Finance
Build a WallNot without more training
Set a BonePull, Straighten, Relax, splint, right?/TD>

Comfort the Dying

Yes, and I don't want to talk about it.
Take OrdersYes. Even stupid ones.

Give Orders

Yes. Even stupid ones.

Cooperate

When necessary.

Act Alone

Whenever possible.

Solve equations

Yep, even quadratic ones.

Analyse a new problem

Of course. This is an issue for some people? Actually I guess it is...

Pitch Manure

Done it. Horses and Cats.

Program a Computer

Yes. Pick a language.

Cook a tasty meal

My spaghetti bolognese is the stuff of legends. Not very good legends, though.

Fight efficiently

Tae Kwon Do. That's pretty efficient.

Die gallantly

Personally, I'd rather live gallantly. I'll do my best to die gallantly, but since I only get one shot at it, I can't guarantee to get it right first time. Maybe I'll die well. Or quite well. Or above average. "He died in an above average manner" they could say at my funeral.

How much of an insect are you?

Enjoy your Friday :)

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com