Latest Older
Living in OblivionLiving in Oblivion

2004-01-09 - 7:45 a.m.
I have been responsible for planning and directing the activities of dozens of people. And I've been bloody good at it too, although I say so myself.

So how did I end up here? A semi-highly paid grunt in a company that, given an even choice between doing something that helps its employees and hinders them personally, will always go with the latter option on general principle?

The problem with the airline industry as a whole, and our company in particular, is that for years they have been used to treating people like shit. Now they feel justified in doing so. Why am I here? I'm here because this was the chair I happened to be sitting in when the music stopped. You can bet your ass when the music starts again I will be dancing my way through companies, managing and implementing enterprise solutions, doing the dog and pony show to C-blockers (CEO,CFO,CIO etc) to squeeze money out of them for exciting and challenging projects that will make life easier for the people that work for them.

That's what I do best. I make life easier for other people. And when they're happy, they're grateful, and so I'm happy and my bank manager is happy.

Meanwhile, back in Bizarro World, I am seriously thinking about going after my raise today. It is overdue, and it is time. We'll see.

Last night was pretty quiet. There was a new episode of ER, so we watched that, and R. bought pizza, which is our usual pattern just before payday. Any money we haven't spent the last night before payday goes on a treat of some kind. Its not usually much. Pizza is about all we can usually afford, therefore...

Alright people are arriving, so I guess I need to act like I'm interested. I need a pair of those glasses with fake eyes on them so I can sleep at my desk :>

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com