Latest Older
Suck-Con 10Suck-Con 10

2004-01-23 - 1:41 p.m.
The Suck quotient of my day is off the scale...

R. was in of those 'Whats-wrong?-nothing' moods this morning. So after she left I had a look around the house, and I figured that she was either unhappy because the house was untidy, or unhappy for some other reason that I couldn't remedy. Either way, I figured if I cleaned the house, did the washing and emptied the trash, that might go some way to cheering her up. So that's what I've been doing in between working.

The second sucky thing today was going to fill out my prescription for Zocor. Zocor lowers your cholesterol. I need o go back to the doctor soon, because I'm pretty sure mine is as low as it needs to be now, and Zocor is not fussy about which cholesterol it lowers, so its probably zapping the HDL as well as the LDL. The prescription is usually a $20 co-pay, but since my company has decided to dick with our insurance plan this year, I had to pay $120 for it. $100 for the deductible and $20 copay. So that sucked. At least the deductible is out of the way for the rest of the year.

The third sucky thing today, was our insurance company. The previous company that insured the house the first year we moved in, bailed on us for no known reason, so my agent decided that Farmers would insure us instead. Works for me. Signed the papers, got the forms, everyone's happy. Now he's telling me that Farmers won't insure us either because of the Wood shingle roof.

Now this roof didn't appear overnight. Its been there since before we moved in. 22 years in fact. It did get replaced in the last few years as a I recall also. I told them I don't give a rats ass about what they replace it with if it ever comes time to do so. If they want to put a composition roof on, I could care less.

"But they want you to replace it now"
"Ain't going to happen. I can't afford it."
"Well, they don't want to insure it."
"Why is this roof suddenly a problem? What's more to the point, why is it suddenly MY problem? Not one single person out of the army of inspectors, lawyers, realtors, insurance agents, mortgage brokers, and every one else that took turns bending us over the kitchen table so they could fuck us up the ass EVER mentioned ANY problem with the wood shingle roof."
"Well, I have a call in to a couple of other companies, I'll let you know what I find out"
"You do that"

I am not going to get bent out of shape about this. I am going to let them figure it out. The house may not be insured. Fuck it, its a 100% mortgage - Ha-Ha! The mortgage company may foreclose and kick us out. In other words they take the problem off our hands for free. Ha-ha! They may come after us for money. I'll file bankruptcy, which is fine because then I can write off a whole bunch of credit card debt at the same time and then everyone can KISS MY ASS!

So I'm not going to sweat it. Or at least not much. Maybe a little.

The piece de resistance for today will undoubtedly be when I have to do bills later. That should be fun....

Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com