Latest Older
The apprenticeThe apprentice

2004-01-29 - 7:55 a.m.
Although I tend to get a decent night's sleep with Benadryl, it does turn my prostate into a grapefruit, which makes taking a whazz in the morning a major undertaking. Still, I am rested and ready to begin an intensive day of coding. I actually got some of the projects I was working on yesterday completed, with any luck I'll knock out another one today.

After passing my Neophyte last weekend, I have entered some kind of spiritual limbo. The preparation was so intense that I'm happy to take a break for a few days, but at the same time I don't really know what to do with myself. So last night, since Enterprise wasn't on and I didn't have any studying I felt like doing, I watched 'The Apprentice'.

Usually I see the last 5 minutes of it before West Wing comes on, so I've been watching wierdo Sam get pulled in front of the carpet. He got his come uppance last night and it was well deserved. There are some basic things you should do on any project:

  • Define your goals
  • Plan out how to achieve them. Research is important here.
  • Make sure everyone understands the goals and is in agreement with the plan
  • Break the project into manageable action items
  • Assign individuals based on their ability and desire to carry out the individual tasks.
  • Prepare contigencies
  • Review the plan in relation to the goals
  • Execute the plan.
  • Monitor the plan for warning signs of potential problems.

    They had eight hours. They should have spent the first two planning. They lost sight of their objectives. The leader changed course radically several times which demoralized and confused the team and critically damaged their ability to achieve their goals.

    The girls team won, but not by being good negotiators (which was the goal of the exercise). They did the silly giggly girl thing, which is annoying. Its annoying because these are supposed to be professional women that insist on not being treated like sex objects. You know what? The best way to avoid being treated like a sex object is NOT TO BEHAVE LIKE ONE!

    Alright, nuff said. Its on again tonight before ER, so I'll probably watch it again.

    Enjoy your Thursday...

    Best blogs on politics


  • Name: Catpewk
  • Age: 43
  • Status: Separated
  • Kids: Yes
  • Cats: Yes
  • Fish: Yes
  • Dogs: No
  • Lemurs: No
  • Profession: Geek
  • Passion: Writer
  • Religion: In Progress
  • Photos
  • Leave a Note
  • Email Catpewk
  • All Your Comments are Belong to Us
  • Profile
  • PaganNews.com
  • Start a Diary
    Next

    hosted by DiaryLand.com